Main content

Title: [Mary Ann Frost?], U.S.A to Relatives, Ireland
CollectionIrish Emigration Database
FileFrost, Mary Ann/17
SenderFrost, Mary Ann
Sender Genderfemale
Sender Occupationhousekeeper, dressmaker
Sender Religionunknown
Recipient Genderunknown
Relationshipwrites to her family
SourceD 1152/3/29: Presented by Mr Charles Best, Mullaghglass, Bessbrook, County Armagh, Ireland.
ArchiveThe Public Record Office, Northern Ireland.
Doc. No.9011026
Partial Date
Doc. TypeEMG
LogAction By Date Document added by B.W. 06:12:1993
Word Count517

To: [Porter, Desert, County Down?]

Chicago July 10th 1865

My Dear Granmother & Uncle & Aunt

I once more take my
pen in my hand to write to you
a fiew [few?] lin-s [lines?] to let you know
how we are all getting along
hear [here?] in this part of the world
I suppose you thought I would
never write agane [again?] but such
is not the case but I am
real-y [really?] ashamed of my selfe [myself?] for
not writing before now but
I have wrote a letter twise [twice?]
and was waiting for the address
to send it and I did not get
it untill [until?] it was two [too?] late to
send it but it is beetter [better?] now
than never and I hope yous [you?]
well [will?] excuse me this time
now I must write you
some news in the first place
it is allmost [almost?] two years since
I received a letter from stating
that you were married and
I was very Glad to hear you
are married and that you
got in with a name sake of
mine and I suppose by this
time you have another one of
the same name that is if it
is a Girl and I hope it is
and now I suppose I must
tell you that I am married
also but we have not any
increase in our family I was
married about nine months
after you were. my Husband
is an amacan [American?] and he is from
Main [Maine?] and his naim [name?] is
Hason Frost and after I

married I kept house about
one year and Sarah and
Joseph both lived with
me while I was housekeeping
and I got a good chance
to to [sic] and work at dressmaking
whean [when?] Sarah was
working and so I give up
house and now we are
bo-rding [boarding?] with an English
family and Sarah Bo-rds [boards?] with
us in the same house and
we got a very pleasant place
to bord [board?] and I think we
like it quite as well as
to keep house because rents
is very high now in Chicago
and provision is also rich
we pay $11 per weake [week?] for my
Husband and my selfe [myself?] and
Sarah pays 4$ per weake [week?]
and we furnish our own
room and my Husband
is in the Express buisness [business?]
and we are getting along pretty
well at present Joseph
went home to Fathers last
fall and he is now at home
Hason and I went out
to Fathers last sommer [summer?]
and staid [stayed?] one weake [week?]
and we would have had
a very pleasant visit if
it was not for the old
woman but Sarah and
I is going out this Sommer [Summer?]
again to try her pations [patience?]
for she dose [does?] not like our
company any too well I have
wrote all the news I know and
I hope you will send all you
Know Uncle and Aunt is
well when I last he-rd [heard?] from
them and Father and
Uncle Speake [speak?] together now
give my love to all my Uncles
and Aunts and cousins

and tell Aunt Mary Ann to