Main content

Title: Jas. Heather, New York, to Thomas Greeves, Dungannon, Ireland
CollectionIrish Emigration Database
FileHeather, James/9
SenderHeather, James
Sender Gendermale
Sender Occupationruns some sort of business
Sender Religionunknown
OriginNew York, USA
DestinationDungannon, Co. Tyrone, N.Ireland
RecipientGreeves, Thomas
Recipient Gendermale
Relationshipfriends, business
SourceD 593/46: Obtained: Lt. Col. J. R. H. Greeves, c/o Messrs J. & T. M. Greeves, Conway Street, Belfast.
ArchiveThe Public Record Office, Northern Ireland.
Doc. No.9601082
Partial Date
Doc. TypeEMG
LogDocument added by LT, 05:01:96.
Word Count627
TranscriptNew York 15th Augt [August?] 1844

Dear Thomas

I have been looking
out for a letter from you, for some
time past, in answer to one I wrote
you, relative to my late brother
Johns affairs, perhaps it [never?] went
to [London?] in that letter I asked the [vet?]
of yours [answering?] Johns acct [account?] & wishing
me to sign it and return it to
you, that I did not wish to do it
as all his widdow [widow?] could do is to
claim her own part, according to what
the law of the land would allow for
& the surplus go to my Brother Johns
child of course I am accountable to
the child till it comes of age for
the amt [amount?] she would be entitled to,
& I [don't?] want her money to go into
the hands of any other, but her
own when she comes of age, &
to releive [relieve?] you from all trouble. I
wish you to remit her amt [amount?] to
me, on acct [account?] after defraying your
own expenses, I told you in the
letter I wrote to you last, that my
Brother John owed me œ5, which
he borrowed from me before we
left Derry, & would have paid me
if he had lived, that sum you are
intitled [entitled?] to deduct out of the Widdows
[widow's?] part, but let that be as it mae [may?]
I must be paid, I wish you
an acct [account?] of this to settle all up
and remit me the childs part,
& the œ5, and the widdows [widow's?] part
you can remit to her adress [address?] in
Canada, getting her rect [receipt?] for same,
& be sure and deduct of [off?] her money
her part of the expenses I dont want
to trouble you any longer, as you
have had enough of trouble allready [already?],
now I will depend on you doing
as I have told you, in this letter
I will be looking out for a letter from
you by the first [packet?] that will
leave Liverpool after you receive
this. I expect to reside in New York
having left [Elmira?] to which place
you will direct your letters in
future to the care of John Johnson
147 Fulton St N. York, I arrived
here on the 9th Inst. expecting to se [see?]
my son Jas [James?] allive [alive?]
but was to [too?] late,
as he died one week in the 2nd of
Augt [August?] before I arrived happy for
him as he was long afflicted and
could not earn any thing towards
his support, I send a paper. I
will send one occationally [occasionally?]
if you will have the goodness to send me
one in return [A?] Dungannon paper,
and adress [address?] as above. I would
wish to hear if Alexr [Alexander?] Little
& Jas [James?] & Harrington [Dukeson?] is
still liveing [living?] of Castlecaulfield,
and any other news you have to communicate,
giveing [giving?] an account of any late
deaths, is [Mr?] Douglas Printer or
Doctor Hamilton still alive if so
please make my best respects to
them, my son George wha [who?] is
growing up a young man wishes
to know if he should go to
Dungannon would there be any
chance of him makeing [making?] out
a liveing [living?] as he would like to
spend the remainder of his days
where he was born, by the
same conveyance I send a letter
& paper to Ross King that used
to live with me, he lives
near coal Island [Coalisland?];
I suppose he lives there yet, the
rest of my family is far distant
from me but all well expecting this
will find your family in the
same way, my son George
sends his best respects to [you?]
& accept the same from

Your sincere friend
& well wisher -
Jas [James] Heather