Main content

Title: William Hutton, Quebec to John McCrea, Strabane, Co. Tyrone.
CollectionIrish Emigration Database
FileHutton, William/24
SenderHutton, William
Sender Gendermale
Sender Occupationunknown
Sender ReligionPresbyterian
OriginQuebec, Canada
DestinationStrabane, Co. Tyrone, N.Ireland
RecipientMcCrea, John
Recipient Gendermale
SourceD2298/4/2: Presented by Messrs. Wilson & Simms, Solicitors.
ArchivePublic Record Office, Northern Ireland.
Doc. No.9307040
Partial Date
Doc. TypeEMG
LogAction By Date Document added by S M, 05:07:1993.
Word Count756
TranscriptQuebec Statistics Office
Sept. [September?] 17th 1853
Dear John,
I was much pleased indeed to receive your long kind
letter - "better late thrive than never do well" - the Lady
Eglinton [------?] steamer which from Quebec sails this morning
& [and?] it has stuck [struck?] me that I ought to write you a
line to say that Fanny & [and?] I propose leaving this for
Ireland on or at the 17th October so that we shall be home about
3rd or 4th November - I thought it just possible that your son
William might think of leaving this fall & [and?] that it would
not be well for him to come here were I absent & [and?] that it
would be perhaps wiser for him not to come till early in the
Spring - if he came at all - you will all be better p----? of
his prospects after seeing dear Fanny for a month of [or?] two
and me for a few days - I know not yet whether I shall be sent
officially or merely on leave of absence - but we intend going at
all events - My excellent & [and?] much loved Father & [and?]
Mother are still alive 86 & [and?] 88 yrs [years?] of age & [and?]
my prosperity renders mute any compunction as to expense that
might have formerly existed - Twenty years will have expired on
the 4th Nov [November] since I left Grange & [and?] on that day
I may very probably be in the North once more - I have [-----?]
& [and?] given to Anna & [and?] Joe upwards of 4000 ' pounds
worth & [and?] have still 20,000 ' pounds worth & [and?] more. It
was a happy day for me that I left the North - & [and?] it will be
a very happy one that sees me back among old friends - if
mercifully spared to see that longed for event. I had a letter of
John McCrea of [-------?] yesterday thanking me for some official
documents & [and?] his wife spent a few days lately with our
people in Sidney & [and?] all liked her very much - he is a J.P.
[Justice of the Peace?] & [and?] doing very well - He is coming to
Montreal for the last few days of this month - being appointed as
a delegate from his county to attend the industrial exhibition to
be held there
I was sorry to hear from him that Robert's John is not any better
for the operation - He must be a great sufferer - I fully expect to
see Robert of Grange out here on a visit to see our beautious
[beauteous?] colony when our railroads are completed 1120 miles are
now in course of formation this the length & [and?] breadth of the
land - to cost 10.5 millions of pounds - not bad for a population
of two millions - our wheat crop in Canada is remarkably fine this
year - it is expected we shall be able to export Twenty millions of
bushels & [and?] feed all our Immigrants too -
Stephenson the great engineer is here and is to build a bridge over
the mighty St. Lawrence that will cost a million and a half of
pounds - It is to be two miles long and the wonder of the world I
hope you will come & [and?] see us when it is up - First cabin
passage will be only 10 pounds to Quebec by that time - Fanny and I

get home in the Sarah Sands Steamer for 20 pounds [---?] at = 17
pounds [----?] each in the first cabin - very reasonable compared
to the terms of the Cunard line & [and?] excellent accommodation -
We had a very kind letter from dear Sarah of Grange offering us a
house while we stay - please give her my love & [and?] William also
& [and?] tell them I hope to have the great pleasure of accepting
their kind offer & [and?] seeing you all for a week or ten days -
I think F. [Fanny?] will stay about six weeks.
Dear love to all dear friends of Leck - Farmhill - Granges [Grange?]
Magheragh [Maghera?] Lower Lech Lisnan--? & [and?] lots of other
places I wonder whether I shall remember them all new faces there
will be a great many & [and?] I suppose even places will be changed
- dear love to Mary & [and?] all
[----?] most truly W. [William?] Hutton