Main content

Title: William Montgomery, New Orleans, to [Joseph Searight?] [Philadelphia?]
CollectionIrish Emigration Database
FileMontgomery, William/90
SenderMontgomery, William
Sender Gendermale
Sender Occupationbookkeeper at custom house
Sender ReligionProtestant
OriginNew Orleans, Louisiana, USA
DestinationPhiladelphia, Penn., USA
RecipientSearight, Joseph
Recipient Gendermale
SourceD 2794/1/2/30: Presented by H.H. Montgomery, 4 Kensington Gds., Belfast 5
ArchiveThe Public Record Office, Northern Ireland.
Doc. No.9510167
Partial Date
Doc. TypeLET
LogDocument added by LT, 20:10:95.
Word Count486
TranscriptNew Orleans
December 11th 1848
My Dear Joe
Your letter directed to Cincinnati did not reach
there before my leaving which was on the 2nd Oct and landed
here on Sunday 15th.It was however forwarded here and duly
received by me shortly after arriving.The scenery on the Ohio
& Missippi [Mississippi?] rivers is to be felt but not
I landed here with but $13 in my pocket and was 6 weeks before I
got anything to do and paying 25 a month of course I had to
borrow. This day week I got a situation in one of the most
respectable English houses in this city a Bookkeeper at 75 Dols
a month which I consider a good thing for a starting point but
not considered good here after 2 or 3 years residence in the
city My engagement [runs?] [so?] that I will be obliged to stop during
the summer if they wish it but that if they dont mind though
at the [North?] it would be considered awful indeed. I am only
thankful and grateful that considering my situation any
person gave me wherewith to make a livelihood. I do not
think my fathers family would be content at only receiving
a letter from me every 2 or 3 months and cannot therefore
agree with you this point. They have always understood from
me that it is my intention to settle in this country and this
city I like better than any I have yet seen New York excepted.
I have had but one letter from home since I left & [----?] for
3 [---?] before but that is in consequence of my
removal. I wrote them by last mail and gave them my address
Geo [George?] Johnston nephew to the late Wm [William?] arrived
here last week [having?] [transported?] with other goods A wife
in the shape form [--?] of [Miss?] Bell the Doctors daughter. He was
out here last year and I saw him returning home by Cincinnati. He
has a Brother in Cincinnati now just come out. Peter his
name Mr Kernahan formerly of Portadown is in Louisville
[--?] in a berth at his old business. He had but 2 sovereigns
when he got to Cincinnati but stopped when there with [Mercer?]
Whisker Chapman is in "Cin" [Cincinnati?] I do not know nor anything
about him at present. I hope Uncle & his friends have
assumed a more friendly attitude towards you than towards
them. You will do no good to yourself or them by hostility &
for the sake of your mother & mine you might [it ?] go and
see him & talk with him as often as possible
Not knowing where a blister may light when scalding water is
flying about. I like my sit [situation ?] & employer so far [like]
the city & like to live here I have nothing further to communicate
at present so
remain your affect. [affectionate?] Cousin
William Montgomery
My address
Mrs Gardner [Suzer & Co?]
54 Custom House [--?]