Main content

Title: William Nicholson, New Orleans to "My dear Uncle James".
CollectionIrish Emigration Database
FileNicholson, William/3
SenderNicholson, William
Sender Gendermale
Sender Occupationworks at cotton trading company
Sender Religionunknown
OriginNew Orleans, Lousiana, USA
Recipient Gendermale
SourceT 2487/1/63: Copied by Permission of E. H. McIlwaine Esq., Farnham Road, Bangor, Co. Down.
ArchiveThe Public Record Office, Northern Ireland.
Doc. No.9007043
Partial Date
Doc. TypeEMG
LogDocument added by JM 25:02:1994.
Word Count601
TranscriptNew Orleans Jany 24 1876

My dear Uncle James,

Your welcome letter of
17th Decr reached me some little time
ago I am glad to hear that you have
been setting Ballow to rights & that it
will be finished soon I suppose you
will all move there next summer
I thank Maria for the compliment
of calling her youngest after me which
you say she thought of doing. I hope she
is quite well, also the children.
I have not any news to tell you, we have
had a warm winter so far, only a few
days now & again of cold weather not
enought [enough?] to kill mosquitoes which are
almost as plentiful as they are in Summer.
Laura & the rest of the family are
quite well. my father in law is
very busy about his railway (he is
President of the Company) which is being
built to Texas. the trade of that State
for lack of direct communication has
for the most part gone past this city
to St Louis & elsewhere but will all
come back here when we have a
railroad, the completion of which
is now almost assured a great
part of the necessary sum being already
subscribed & some 15 miles of the
road through the swamp being graded
& ready for the cross-ties & the work
will go on very fast now the high
ground being reached, The beneficial
results to this place through having
railroad communication with Texas
which is one of the richest agricultural
States in the Union are not to be
conceived by anyone not having an
interest in this City. I suppose in
Cotton alone that now finds its way
to other Ports we should receive from
Texas the quantity represented in
$6.000.000 & in Wheat which is
of a very superior quality & production
increasing each year, the amount of
$15.000.000 would all find its way

here. the turning over of these articles
alone, not to speak of the money this city
would receive from Texas for all sorts
of supplies furnished here are incalulable [incalculable?]
& the people are fully aware of the
importance of the railroad, one would
have been built long ago but swindlers
got hold of the money which they preferred
to a a road to Texas. There
is no danger of this recurring now
but I am imposing on you a rigmarole
in which you have no interest
I have been working late almost every
night since I came back from Ireland
returning from dinner at 7 till [until?] sometimes
10 1/2 or 11 PM. The firm have
been buying largely of cotton having
already bought over 40.000 Bales worth
#420.000 the most of which is shipped
to the Lancashire spinners some to
Alsace, Saxony, Bavaria &
Naples. The business already done is
as large as all last seasons when
we shipped Cotton up to End of May
The Cotton crop is a very big one this
season perhaps will reach 4 1/2 Million
of Bales (worth #10 each or over) #45.000.000
You must excuse me writing such a
dry letter. Laura writes with me in
love for Maria, Percy & Caroline &
all at Falmore not forgetting Connie
I suppose my mother will soon receive
her money from the Court so I trust
some one [someone?] will look after her to see
that she dont sink it foolishly, but
I think Dinnen will see to it as you
say his credit is at stake to a
certain extent
Ever your affecte [affectionate?] nephew
Wm [William?] Nicholson
Have you [given?] Andy Cowan Francis McC any more Coleraine?