Main content

Title: Eliza Quin, New York, to "Dear Parents"
CollectionIrish Emigration Database
FileQuin, Eliza/10
SenderQuin, Eliza
Sender Genderfemale
Sender Occupationunknown
Sender Religionunknown
OriginNYC, USA
Recipient Gendermale-female
SourceBritish Parliamentary Papers, 1849, X1, (122), p 128
ArchiveThe Main Library, The Queen's University of Belfast
Doc. No.9804816
Partial Date
Doc. TypeEMG
LogDocument added by LT, 30:04:98.
Word Count431
TranscriptAppendix to Minutes of Evidence Before Select Committee

Appendix X

New York January 22th [nd?] 1848

Dear Pearants [parents?] i [I?] take the opportunity of of
[sic] writhing [writing?] to you to let you know that i [I?]
am in good health at present thank god for his kind blessings
hoping that these few lines will find you in the same i [I?]
live with John Warren Since i [I?] come [came?] to this
country i [I?] have not seen my cousson [cousin?] this four
months she is out in the Country i [I?] wish you to write an
answer as soon as this letter arrives with you and let me know
what has Occurred since i [I?] left there edward [Edward?] Quin
[Quinn?] sister is in this City i [I?] wish to know how [who?]
the Land Lord is i [I?] wish my mother to return Lady Gore my
kind compliments for her kindness to me i [I?] hope with Gods
Assistance in a short time i [I?] will be able to assist my
father when i [I?] get aquaint [acquainted?] with the Country
My Cousson [cousin?] Edward Quin [Quinn?] and family is well
and was a verry [very?] good friend of mine Mrs. Warren was
as good as a mother to me since i [I?] Come [came?] to this
Country Mr. Warren done [did?] as much for me since i [I?]
come [came?] to this Country as if i [I?] was his own Child
My Coussons [cousins?] and i [I?] did not part since we left
home we can see each other every Sunday in Mr. Quins [Quinn?]
house James McClean is no more i [I?] wish you to let me know
how you and Mr. Walters is [sic] getting along Give my love to
Maraget [Margret?] and Ann and Mary i [I?] wish you to keep
them at scholl [school?] if you possible [sic] Give my best
respects to all friends and inquiring neighbors [neighbours?]
i [I?] dont wish you to part your property for some time to i
[I?] send you more account i [I?] am verry [very?] glad for
leaving there and coming to this Country this is the best
Country Ann sends her kind love to Mrs. Hart i [I?] wish you
to let me know how provisions is in that Country We had five
weeks passage This is the best Country in the world it is
easy making money in this Country but hard to save it We can
no more at present but remain your affectionate Daughter to
Direct your letter to Mr. John Warren 6th Ward Hotell [Hotel?]
Corner of Centre and Duane Streets. ELIZA QUIN [Quinn?].