Main content

Title: Alexander Robb, British Columbia, To Sister [in Dundonald?]
CollectionIrish Emigration Database
FileRobb, Alexander/19
SenderRobb, Alexander
Sender Gendermale
Sender Occupationfarmer
Sender Religionunknown
OriginLytton, British Columbia, Canada
Recipient Genderfemale
SourceT.1454/5/11: Copied by Permission of Dr J C Robb Esq, M.B.E., M.D., M.C.H., 21 Cambourne Park, Belfast. #TYPE EMG Alexander Robb, Lytton [British Columbia?] To His Sister [Susanna?]. [Dundonald, Co. Down, Ireland?]. 8 December 1869.
ArchivePublic Record Office Northern Ireland.
Doc. No.8911108
Partial Date
Doc. TypeEMG
Log30:11:1989 GC created 29:06:1990 CD input 29:06:19
Word Count848
TranscriptLytton Dec 8th 1869

My dear Sister
I take the opportunity of Mr Alexander
McWha's going home to Ireland of writing again. I should have done so long
ago but that I have not been at home all Summer. You know that what I call
home is a place called Nicola Lake but unfortunately our crop this year was
a failure owing to the scarcity of water. As soon as I saw that we were
going to have little or no crop I left my partner to take care of the stock
and place and started for Cariboo. There I stopped all Summer and have only been down here about three weeks. I did not make a great deal up in Cariboo but still I done much better than by stopping down below and am very well satisfied that I went there. Cariboo is much changed since I was there last in 1864. Everything is much cheaper than they were then and although perhaps fewer men accumulate large fortunes still the majority of miners live much better and are a great deal more comfortable than they were at that time. Mr McWha will be able to tell you all about the miners much better than I can as he has been up there for over six years so I will leave him to tell you anything you wish to know of them. I hardly think that I will be likely to go up there again for some time but it is just possible I may do so next spring in fact it all depends on what word I may have from them during the winter. I would like better to stop at the farm during the summer and attend to the ranch as it would pay me better in the long run. We have now about twenty five cows that we can milk and if I can only manage to make butter I can do very well. I could find a ready sale for all the butter I could make at two shillings per pound and as the feed of the cows costs nothing I think, or rather, I know, that there is plenty of money to be made by the business. The only trouble is whether I can make the butter good or not but I rather think I can. Do not you know of some decent girl whom you could send out to help me. If you know of such a one just send her
along as I think that a good wife would be the making of me just now. She
may be of any age from twenty to forty, long or short, fair or dark, money
or no money, but I would like her to to be industrious, decent, tolerably
intelligent and at least middling good looking. Seriously if I had only the means I would come home and get married but at present my circumstances will not permit one doing so. So if you know of any girl who will answer the above description and who wants to get married very badly tell her to come along and she will find a tolerably good husband in your big brother. I believe Mr A McWha is going to bring out his niece with him to this Country and my intended can come along for company. A good many of my acquaintances have left this country lately on visits to their friends in Canada and Europe. Amongst them is one who will be likely to pay you a visit. His name is Mr John Clapperton of Queens Co [County?] Ireland. He and I have been acquainted for over seven years and during that time I have received many kindnesses from him. Any kindness you can show him I will consider as a personal favour, and I can confidently recommend him to your acquaintance. You will find him a cultivated man and a gentleman in every respect.
I am likely to stop here a month or six weeks before I go home to
Nicola Lake. William McWha is not in very good health and wishes me to
attend to his business while he goes down to Victoria for a change of air.
Bill has been a very good friend of mine and I cannot very well refuse to do
this much for him although I would much rather be at home.
I have been in very good health this last year and feel better and
stronger than I have done for some years previously. I do not know that I
have anything more to add. Give my love to Father. Tell Sam I got his
letter and was very glad to hear from him. When writing to Eleanor tell her I also received her letter and that I am going to write to her before long.
Love to all the rest and believe me my dear Sister
Your affect [affectionate?] brother
Alexander Robb
P.S. W McWha has promised to bring me out any photographs you may
send. Be sure and send yours and Marys and the boys if possible. Sandy.