Main content

Title: Bella Smyth, Castledamph, to James A Smyth, Ontario
CollectionIrish Emigration Database
FileSmyth, Bella Maggie/92
SenderSmyth, Bella Maggie and Willie John
Sender Genderfemale
Sender Occupationfarming household
Sender ReligionPresbyterian
OriginCo. Tyrone, N.Ireland
DestinationEssex Co., Ontario, Canada
RecipientSmyth, James Alexander
Recipient Gendermale
Relationshipsiblings / brothers-in-law?
SourceCopyright Retained by Mr & Mrs J Smyth, Castledamph, Plumbridge, Co Tyrone, castledamph@btinternet.com
ArchiveMr & Mrs J Smyth, Castledamph, Plumbridge.
Doc. No.0310039
Partial Date
Doc. TypeLTE
LogDocument added by LT, 24:10:2003.
Word Count476
TranscriptEnvelope addressed to:-

Mr. James A Smyth
Essex County

Postmarked on Front:-


(Written on front)
Aus Oct 26 1897

Back of Envelope:-

Postmarked on Back of Envelope:-
Oc 4

Se 24

(2 letters in envelope)

September 23 97

Dear Brother

You must excuse
me for not writing to you this long
time. Well I was that hurried I
had not time. But owing to the inclemency
of the weather I might not got writing now
either. I have not much particular to tell
you unless about the Tempestuous weather we
have. I may say it s raining every day. We
have all our corn cut unless the half of the
upper Field and we have only three stacks in.
The corn that s in appears to get a stand
still. Me and Willie Gilkison was breaking
stones this two or three days. We will be
very late getting it all done up this year.
Mr. Gilkison got a letter the other day and
the letter specified that the [they?] would
have to put up in two load (sic) viz an interval
between every cubit [cubic?] yard and if we
have to do that it will be very troublesome.
The last time he was round he said the stones
would be counted the same as gravel. And
the water has been divided and I don t
know what we will do Next Year. We would
have the stones Broken in the same time.
I suppose they were telling you about the
night we had at Newtownstewart. I think
they [there?] were more people than on the
twelfth July. When the rockets would go
up you would see nothing but faces. If
you lost your comrade you might as well
look for holy water in an Orange Lodge.
I kept with John Gilkison all the time.

(Letter in Childish Handwriting Attached to Above)

Dear James

[they?] [done?] no school now
am done rodding the corn
I was over in Uncle James
Saturday and Sunday we [wee?]
Bella cried when I was leaving
I took over nuts and we [wee?]
Charlie could eat them
our pig has twelve young ones
Uncle James got two but the [they?]
died and Willie Gilkinson got
three and the [they?] are living yet
she had nineteen I will not have
to go to school till October.

No more this time

Willie John Hay

Written in different handwriting at bottom of page
(He is not a good writer yet better far
at giving old chat)