Main content

Title: [?] [?], Ontario to “Dear Father and Mother”
CollectionIrish Emigration Database
FileSmyth, James Alexander/1(2)
SenderSmyth, James Alexander
Sender Gendermale
Sender Occupationfarm labourer
Sender ReligionProtestant (Methodist)
OriginEssex Co., Ontario, Canada
DestinationCo. Tyrone, N.Ireland
RecipientSmyth, John J. and wife
Recipient Gendermale-female
SourceCopyright Retained by Mr & Mrs J Smyth, Castledamph, Plumbridge, Co Tyrone, Castledamph@btinternet.com
ArchiveMr & Mrs J Smyth
Doc. No.0604153
Partial Date
Doc. TypeEMG
Word Count625
Transcript[no envelope]

South Woodslee, Ont.
January 9. 1893

Dear Father & Mother
I received your letter
of Dec. 8 on the 22 Ult and I am
glad to know that you are all
well We are all in good health here
Tillie, Willie, Sarah, Annie, Charley and
the baby was [sic] all here for Xmas.
so there was quite a family here for
Xmas dinner Annie and Charley
went back on the 31st and Tillie
and Willie went on the 8 inst Sarah
is here yet I suppose she will have
to wait to get a situation
Cassie is going to College this week
The don’t [sic] be much stir around here
at Xmas nothing like it would
be at home no shooting here

[page 2]
There was pretty hard frost all
through December and a little snow
New years day brought lots of snow
good sleighing since, we were all out
for a sleigh ride on the 2nd the timber
is coming [coming?] in fast to the mill since
the sleighing come to-day the snow is
falling fast There was good
skating on the ice before the snow
came I was learning to skate I
bought a pair of skates at [5?] shillings
I suppose you know what skating is
though I never seen [sic] none of it at home
There is a kind of a pond of resorvour [reservoir?]
in Woodslee and there was about a
hundred there every night when skating
was good from dark to 10 or 11 o clock
I suppose you would think it would
not be very old when we would
stay out at night like that but
we never feel cold and I tell you its
fine fun skating

[page 3]
Well now I think I will try
and answer these questions of yours
I should have wrote [sic] this letter two
weeks ago but you should have a letter
from me since you wrote, learning
telegraphy and giving to College it
all depends on which of them would
be best as one would cost as much
as the other before I would be through
and going to College it would be
worth all it would cost even you
did not follow it out and the other
would not do one any good unless the [they?]
always work at it and then you would have got
pay, I mean if you learned either one of them
and then did not like it when you would
be through one would be some use but
the other would not, Charles Allison
brother is an Telegraph operator and he
was home at Xmas and he told me he
would not advise me learn it I will
not learn either one now anyway I will see
how Wilie and Sarah gets along

[page 4]
I dont like farming very well nor I
dont dislike it either I can do it
if I have to without any trouble
but I would rather farm here as at
home and have a cleaner nicer time
no pigs or anything take that in the house
not as much as a dog will they let stay
in here I will I answer your letter as it comes
Bartley 19£ is not very much a man that
would run like business like that would
get [£50?] I can have £30 this year if I like
and remember this is only Essex County
wages is low here besides in other places
I dont remember of saying in my letter
that I did not like the Country
I dont know what you mean I could
give you an advice in I could give
you two or three Uncle and Aunt
knows all about those things they
dont know what advice to give
I dont think they would advise
me go [home?]

[Remainder of letter missing]

Transcribed by Gordon Drummond