Main content

Title: M. Brooks, Philadelphia to James & Rebecca Clark, Co Tyrone
CollectionIrish Emigration Database
FileBrooks, Matthew/26
SenderBrooks, Matthew
Sender Gendermale
Sender Occupationunknown
Sender Religionunknown
OriginPhiladelphia, Penn., USA
DestinationCo.Tyrone, N.Ireland
RecipientClark, James & Rebecca
Recipient Gendermale-female
SourceT 2700/2: Copied by Permission of Reverend Canon J.H. Gebbie B.A., Newtownstewart, County Tyrone. #TYPE EMG Matthew Brooks, Philadelphia, U.S.A., to James & Rebecca [Clark?], [Urney?], [County Tyrone?], [Ireland?], 25 August 1850.
ArchivePublic Record Office Northern Ireland.
Doc. No.9007175
Partial Date
Doc. TypeEMG
Log07:08:1990 JM created 01:10:1990 GC input 05:11:19
Word Count662
TranscriptTo: James and Rebecca [Clark?], [Urney, County Tyrone?]
Philadelphia August the 25th 1850

Dear James and rebecca i now feel anxious
to write you a few lines to let you know
that i now enjou [enjoy?] good health and i hope when
you open this letter in urny [Urney?] it will find
you and the family all in the same friend
James i received your kind letter dated march
the 13th 1849 which gave me a great dale [deal?] of
satisfaction to hear that you were all [well?] and to
hear that you had received my letter i received the
Answer to it the 13th of April John cummins
for his sisters letter that same day and he came
to me with word that there was a letter there
for me likewise i was well pleased with my letter
and i was proud to see that you were making such
improvements on your little place by ditching and draining
I was surprised when i saw the cummins letter
to see how that family was scatter[e?]d from death and
emigration I heard nancy cummins say when she
got your letter She would shortly write to you
but it appears that she has niglected [neglected?] Elizabeth fear
has got married some time ago and nancy lives
with them i think shee [she?] looks very much like the mother
of the house - friend James i have received the 15th
of this month your letter datted [dated?] the 20th of may
it appears that Mr watson the bearer of the litter [letter?] when
he arrived here could not find me and going out
to the country some distance he left the letter with
his sister and shee [she?] not not (sic) knowing where to find
me the letter remained there for several weeks
but when i looked over your letter and seen that
you were all well and in good health when the letter
was wrote [written?] i feeled [felt?] quite satisfied
[transcript:] and where I saw that you were able to put
10 acres of an addition to your farm i was quite
elivated [elevated?] and likewise to think you were able to by [buy?]
another horse and put down such a large crop i thing [think?]
you run a great risk to venture to put 2 acres of
potatoes and them such an uncertain crop but I hope
the[y?] will grow better this season than they have done
for several years back friend James when you
write to me again let me know what rent you pay
yearly for them 10 acres or if you have it as low as
your own old place Dear rebecca i see you are
anxious to know if i ever intend to visit ireland
again i some times think of going over to see the
old emerald isle once more but it appears that i
never can fix the time to start i have now lived
the chief part of 23 years in philadelphia and has
formed a long chane [chain?] of acquaintance and i believe
it would be more of a thought to me to leave philadelphia
now than it was to leave my native land so i can
scarcely give you a decided answer on that
question Dear rebecca when this letter comes to
hand i wish you to rem[em?]ber that sandy
complected [complexioned?] namesake of mine and by [buy?] him a pair
of boots out of this bill i have to inform you of the
death of our old friend Joseph galbraith he died
back in the state of Missouri with his brother sam
last fall And likewise our old neabour [neighbour?] edward
gallgher [gallagher?] died in november last in philadelphia
he died 40 dollars and better in my debt
friend James i have nothing more to write at
present but i desire you to write as soon as this
comes to hand and direct to the care of mrs Crilley
south 7th street No 2 1/2 philadelphia no more
at present but remains your kind brother
Matthew Brooks