Main content

Title: Caledon, U.S.A., to The Countess Of Caledon [England?]
CollectionIrish Emigration Database
Filelord caledon/10
SenderLord Caledon (James Du Pre Alexander)
Sender Gendermale
Sender Occupationpolitician
Sender Religionunknown
OriginLake Superior, Ontario, Canada
DestinationBarnet, England
RecipientCountess of Caledon
Recipient Genderfemale
SourceD 2433/B/8/36: Deposited by the Trustees of the Caledon Estates.
ArchiveThe Public Record Office,N.Ireland
Doc. No.9511088
Partial Date
Doc. TypeEMG
LogDocument added by LT, 17:11:95.
Word Count268
TranscriptMichipicaton Fort
Lake Superior
May 24 1841.

My Dear Mother,

We arrived at the station yesterday having been 3
weeks out today from LaChine we are nearly half way-We
experienced the delay of a week moving ice in the Lakes Superior
and Nipissing we travel generally about 18 hours a day and have
about an hour for breakfast and dinner. I am however much afraid
that the hunting party will be made up and that I shall have no
chance of getting to the Plains before July - Lord HarGrave is
of the party I shall however leave him at Red River there is a
Russian gentleman and a secretary making four in all 2 canoes
with 15 men, on our arrival at Fort William which will be in 4 or
5 days

(Page 2)
we got smaller canoes we expect to be at Red River if we have
good weather in 16 or 18 days from this time we are all well and
comfortable and have plenty of provisions the weather is mild
the quantity of ice we have met with keeps us from being too hot
the mosquitoes have not yet begun to bite - You will most
probably hear from me from Red River if there is any canoes
going back I shall hear no English news until I return which may
be next month or perhaps not till September. If you see Selkirk
you may tell him I saw the [lock?] yesterday he climbed up in
Lake Superior at breakfast time

(Page 3)
the fault side of Michipicaton. [One?] of the Hudsons bay
gentlemen who returns to [Fort?] [Pauloye?] will take charge of
this letter.
Yours affectionately
Love to my Grandmother [Bell?] & c