Main content

Title: Martha [Pozintore ?] Philadelphia To "My Dear Sister".
CollectionIrish Emigration Database
Sender Genderfemale
Sender Occupationunknown
Sender Religionunknown
OriginPhiladelphia, Penn., USA
Recipient Genderfemale
ArchiveCentre For Migration Studies
Doc. No.302003
Partial Date
Doc. TypeEMG
LogDocument added by LT, 31:01:03.
Word Count528
TranscriptPhiladelphia August 22 1867

My dear sister
I received your welcome
letter in due time dated 4th
I received it while on a western
visit at [Mr?] Simpson Alleghany
[Allegheny?] Mrs Simpson Ann King
recolects [recollects?] every field
[there?] on the old place,loves to
talk about the neighbours especially
brother Wm [William?] she has only
one son I should not be suprised if
the [they?] would visit Irland
[Ireland?] next summer he is anxious
to see his Father,and Ann her aunt Jane Clark
if alive,the [they?] are in easy sircumstance
[circumstance] lives very well, exceedingly
kind I spent two weeks with [W?] [Jeffers?]
[Eaton?] the [they?] moved to Ohio 3 years ago
has a very nice farm 200 acres
for 5 hundred sheep which
is very profitable stock in Ohio
I only stoped [stopped?] one week with
them,the [they] sent a great deal of
love to you & all the family
the [they] were very unwilling to let
me off, but I had stoped [stopped?]
3 weeks with Mrs Simpson [&?]
Mrs Eaton I thought six week [weeks?]
was long enough from home
it has rained nearly all the
time since I got home which
makes it very unplesant
to do any thing Charles [&?]
James Gilland is very well
off,for farmers but I would
not call them wealthy Mary
is worth about £700 the [they] are
much better off than her
but I would not live where
the [they] do for 2 years for all
the [they] have got Mr Eaton place
cost £2000 the [they] paid one half
thinks the [they] will be able to clear in 5 years
I think the [they] have made a good move
a fine brick house with everything more
comfortable than the old place,[two sons?
[&?] two daughters at home the youngest
son educating for the Ministry
Daniel [I fancy?] as kind as ever
I could [scarce?] get off sends [bushels?]
of love to you all I stoped [stopped?] on my
way coming back to see George
McGee spent one night with
them he has a nice wife & 4
or 5 children lives comfortable
I next went up the [Ponichala?]
river on a steamboat to [Greene?]
County to see friends Gillands
Charles and Mary lives alone
they cried with joy to see me
the [they?] are two miles from a village
[named?] Carmichael town
[James?] lives 3 miles from them
married 8 years has a wife but
not children the [they?] are all in good

My dear sister I am very
sorry your health improves
so slowly but God knows
what is best for us I wrote
you & sister Betty before I went
west which I hope you received
dont trouble about any thing
it only injures our health
and does us no good,be [content?]
May McClelland has been poorly
Robert McConoughy is well
Thomas Patton is well
Hugh Loughlin [Rankin?] is well
[Marcus?] Patton wife [Caty?] is well
Mrs [D-----?] [is?] [well?]
[Miss?] [Hunters?] is [well?]
Mrs James Linsey is well
My love to all my brothers [sisters?]
Nephews & Nieces all[my?]
friends who enquire after me
Mrs Paul [Caroline Gunnell?] [&?] family is well
From Your Loving Sister
Martha [Pozintore?]

Transcribed by Gordon Drummond