Main content

Title: John McBride, Quebec to James McBride, Derriaghy.
CollectionIrish Emigration Database
Filemcbride, john/88
SenderMcBride, John
Sender Gendermale
Sender Occupationweaver
Sender Religionunknown
OriginQuebec, Canada
DestinationLisburn, Co. Antrim, N.Ireland
RecipientMcBride, James Sr
Recipient Gendermale
SourceT 2613/1: Copied by Permission of Mrs Emily McLister, Mosside Cottage, Dunmurry, Co. Antrim.
ArchiveThe Public Record Office, Northern Ireland.
Doc. No.9007095
Partial Date
Doc. TypeEMG
LogDocument added by JM 26:11:1993
Word Count956
Transcript16th June 1819
My dear Father
I take this opportunity of fulfilling my promise of writing
to you as soon as I would Land - On the 6th of May when
I parted with you in Belfast I thought I would have got out
to see you again, but that evening we were towed down the channel
by the Rob Roy, on Saturday the 8th of May about 1 O'Clock we set
sail with a fair Wind - on Tuesday the Wind began to blow hard &
contrary & continued to blow till Wednesday the 19th when it got very
pleasant I was sick two or three days during the rough weather James
Hunter was about the same time sick, it was not near so unpleasant as I thought
it would have been, although I would not allow any one who can afford
to go direct to the United States to come this way, on acct [account?] of
so many being taken in these Ships, Indeed I could not complain of anything
so much as getting our Victuals made ready, as the fire we had was not
near sufficient for so many - During all the passage the Weather was Very
cold and when we made the Banks of N.Y. [New York?] on the 2nd of June it was
uncommonly cold with a Very thick fog - On Tuesday the 15th of June we Anchored
between Moose Island & Lubec, this place has a fine appearance being all
covered with Wood to the Water-edge the Land here is not good it is sold at 5
to 10 Dol [Dollars?] partially cleared the houses here are all of wood painted
and have a handsome appearance, where I am writing is in a Room at least 40
feet by 30 the Landlord is very civil in telling me anything I ask him,
Carpenters have 2 Dollars: p [per?] day Labourers 1 Dollar: to 1 1/2 - two
dollars or 1 1/2 for shoeing a horse [round?] the Iron the Smith, The day we
Anchored there were 25 of us agreed with a man to carry us to New York we pay
4 Dollars: a [piece?] she is Laden with Plaster of Paris it is like our
Limestone - James Hunter is going to travel by land to Boston you may let his
people know he is in very good health - Hugh Brown the young man who was with
me out at your house is going with me to N.Y. [New York?] I would be glad to
know if you have seen any of his People as I have reason to think he is a very
decent young man; James Hunter is here with me & desires me to inform you that
he will not write at present untill he goes further into the country, and then
he will write & send his people a satisfactory acct [account?] from the acct
[account?] we have heard he is going to travel through a fine Country, he is
to write to me as soon as he [falls?] in to work we have concluded that going
as we intend will be to our mutual advantage.

Dear Father You need not be in any uneasiness about me as I am sure from the
accts [accounts?] I have heard I will succeed as work is very plenty I suppose
I will settle about Philadelphia as I hear the weaving trade is doing well
This place is about 15 Miles from St Andrews & is a better place for getting a
passage to the United States than St Andrews I can say little more at present
as the Boat is waiting to take us on Board. You may give my love to Mrs
Phillips & Jane to John Craig & Nancy & all the Rest of my friends

I will write to you again as soon as I be settled in New York or elsewhere I
cannot Expect any letter from you till then as you cannot tell where to write to

I enjoyed the best of health during the passage and now thank God I am in very
good health at present; I eat some of my Eggs yesterday which w--- [were?]
fresh & good as when I set out My Bread kept uncom [uncommonly?] well, two days
ago I eat the last of it, I was very sorry [it did not last?] it was
the best Bread I seen in the ship I am sure it [would?] have kept a Quarter of
a year fresh & good; I had plenty of Butter & Beef; I got porridge & Sowens
[Sowen?] & Broth the Sowens [Sowen?] made from OatMeal tell Charlotte & Betty
they have great credit in the Bread; the Bread here is very fine about the same
price it is in Ireland, the Dollar passes here as 6 Shillings, Guineas
4 2/3 Dollar.

The view from the Window where I am writing is delightful Ships passing to &
fro the View is terminated by hills covered with trees of a small some down to
the edge of the Water - You may tell Mrs Dunlop that her husband is here with
me he is in very good health & never was Sick - we go to N:Y: [New York?]
together I can say no more at present but I am Dr [Dear?] Father your loving son
John McBride

I am not sure how I will send this but I think it will be with Rodger McCormick
the Steward perhaps you will have a Letter from N:Y: [New York?] before you get
this. We [-o--?] a vessel from St Johns, New Brunswick bound for [Hull?] The
Captain said he would report our ship.

To the Care of Mr Wm [William?] Phillips Innkeeper
To Mr James McBride Derriaghy

August 23rd 1819
June 16th 1819