Main content

Title: Robert F Byron, Bay View, Canada West, To Brother, Owen
CollectionIrish Emigration Database
FileByron, Robert F/27
SenderByron, Robert Francis
Sender Gendermale
Sender Occupationfarmer
Sender Religionunknown
OriginBay View, Canada West, Canada
RecipientByron, Owen
Recipient Gendermale
SourceT.2227/2: Copied by Permission of Mrs Young, Gas Works House, Lurgan, Ireland. #TYPE EMG Robert Francis Byron, Bay View, Nr Trenton, Canada West, British North America, to "My Dear Owen", His Brother. 9th August 1857.
ArchivePublic Record Office Northern Ireland.
Doc. No.8811070
Partial Date
Doc. TypeEMG
Log05:12:1988 GC created 01:11:1990 SB input 05:11:19
Word Count1545
TranscriptBay View near Trenton Canada West
British North-America 9th August 1857

My Dear Owen
I received your letter on friday night last, all here were
glad to here [hear?] from you, and Margarett, I first must comense
[commence?] to scold you, on your familys account. you are a man
totaly [totally?] different to others and from such more is expected.
Albert gave me sum [some?] ide [idea?] of how your family have so fare
[far?] turned out, and the [?] I have seen I must say that I am convinced
had the [twigs?] been bent in time it would have promised better print.
he was hardly arived [arrived?] here when I was put in posesion
[possession?] of his paper, life, which to you is no credit, you will
wonder when I tell you that in belfast, I have acquaintances, one,
in particular who found out the night before alberts departure, wher
[where?] and to whom he was coming, and duly a [?]. when he arrived
we received him as we should I procured promises of situation for him and
of fair emolument. 75 pounds. Anuel [annual?], but old habits are
difficult to get rid of, he gave way, became for days the laffing
[laughing?] stock of Trenton could not be found untill [until?]
my servant man got him, at last he returned hoam [home?] this
occured [occurred?] twise [twice?], my daughters rarely change words
with him, his wife seems respectable, and would do well here in the
Teaching of a school but I fear she has got an odd mixture of
the duce [juice?] of the barley,in her suck, or otherwise has seen
it used copiously in her mature years, the child seems to have been
used to taisting [tasting?], however I trust all this will pass by
if albert only keeps as he has done [Wm?] Owen Byron.
Now three weeks, I may say at hard labour, as he is assisting
me with the harvest, he has ruined his prospects of situations here
but could I depend upon him I might get him a situation away
from this, but will not do so untill [until?] I can depend upon his
[stability?] and integrity, did one of my suns [sons?] act as he did
I would lath him with a whip or stick from whare [where?] I met him
to his hoam [home?], he is at work for me I must say at hard labour,
in the fields
With regard to my present [?] [?] [life?] [?] comission
[commission?] of the pace [peace?] for the County of Hastings, also
[?] for the same, this is of little use but trouble, I now live in
the Township of Murray and County of Northumberland where I purchased a
farm of 237 acres with house barn & orchard. I have 50 acres of crop
beside hay 7,000 bundles of wheat called shaves [sheaves?] here, 11,000
do [ditto?] of Ry [Rye?] in the Barn & about 10 tons hay in. I have 9 acres of peas to put in 1 of potatoes 2 of Buck wheat 7 of oats and three
quarters of Indian corn, to sow and 15 hay yet I am living here only
since 1st May last. My eldest son John he is marid [married?] to
a person named Houston from Eniscillen [Enniskillen?] her father
belonged to the [?] dept he has [but one?] daughter a fine boy of 7
years old died lately albert was at the funeral he lives 28 miles from me,
in Huntingdon, whare [where?] I last lived he keeps a post office,
Gerge [George?] keeps stoar [store?] or shop in Stirling 16 miles
from me, William is off west in charge of the Greatest Merchantile
[Mercantile?] & Sawed lumber Establishment in Wisconsin U. States at 500 pounds a year he is not marie [married?] stands 6 feet one high a fine looking man, Robert is in California 6 feet 2 high a finer man. 200 lbs to [?] I expect him hoam [home?] Charles is at the law he passed his examinations as an atorney [attorney?] in april last but has to serve 5 years from the 11th of march of 1856, he is now studdying [studying?] in he first office in B[e?]lleville and at the end of that time he passes as a
barrister if he is capable it costs me 15/= per week for his board,
Jean is marid [married?] to a person named McCalay, a R [Roman?] Catholic,
he is a good husband she made this match herslfe [herself?], has 2
childen a boy & girl, Sera [Sara?] is not marid [married?] but verry
[very?] high minded, susan is well educated the last, is now I think
19. Margaret is 14 or 15 for so fare [far?] well educated. Now for a
detale [detail?] of wo [woe?], In 1852 [January?] I was worth 3,450 pounds
cash and property to the amount of about 2,500 pounds I put my boys
in to the mercantile way the [they?] put me in debt so that on the
1st January last I [put?] by [?] money & [property?] 6,211 pounds
13.4. lost all property that could be taken besides I had 120 pounds
anual [annual?] of rents in [trenton?] I have only 27 pounds 10.0.
now has only 3 horses 1 cow 18 sheep, but I have health thank god
and property still value for about 300 pounds this plan I live on
I paid only 200 pounds on it I owe 500 pounds yet and yesterday the
15th I paid 50 pounds more but I could sell it now for 1,400 pounds
it is a handsome place, since I comensed [commenced?] this letter I
think I have got an employment for about 8 months at 7$ per month
with his board to go on a survey as chain holder, where he must save
his money he seems ancteous [anxious?] to help you to come out here
I pay him 2 pounds 10.0. per month while he is a [at?] work for me
I also find his wife & child without cost to him, but if he gows [goes?]
on this survey his wife will gow [go?] [along?] there [?] [?] [K lives?]
[?] [?] can pay for board I can not bear a woman that wishes at all to
tipple or drink and therefore to do myself and feelings justice
I could not live in our house with her as onst [once?] is enough
for me to see the apperance [appearance?] of whiskey on any person
to bear them a lasting haitred [hatred?] particularly a woman but
a this in your letters to Albert do not mention a word a bout
[about?] it as he feels the smart [?] language to him
about her and himself, nor do I think it advisable for you
to refer to his folley [folly?] here only advise him [against?]
the committel [committal?] of any such guilt do not let your sun [son?]
in his writing onst [once?] refer to it as a light trifling mind
is easey [easy?] hurt and often by repulse whare [where?] least expected
[?] [?] back to the like temptation advise him in the strongest terms
to gard [guard?] against and mark that part of your letter private
With regard to yourself answer my question to the leter [letter?]
do you teach arithmethic [arithmetic?] algebra, [?] [?] the use of
the [?], Grammer, [Grammar?] Geogrefy [Geography?], with all the other
rules usual in high schools if so could you hand an examination by a
board of persons [separate?] [?] [those?] [?] [?] [and?] [?]
if so you would receive 100 pounds a year as a terchur [teacher?]
of a comon [common?] school here if you get from this board a first
class ticket or certificate if you think of coming to this country
and that you can pass this [examination?] between albert and myself
we could send for you in May next. Trew [through?] the Grand [Trunk?]
Rail Road. I think albert asked the wife for sum [some?] assistance
to send you but refused she is simply foolish purchasing a dress that
she does not want, who or what she is I no [know?] not but I think
it bad match for him. I maybe decived [deceived?] from my prejudice
on acount [account?] of drink it is [here?] to [too?] chape [cheap?]
My [better half so called?] seemed happy [?] [?] [?] [?] [?] [?] [?]
away from us so does all my daughters, I think rather on the wifes
account all join love to you Margaret and the rest of your family.
I remain your Brother &. &. &.
Robert [Robert?] Francis
I suppose you herd [heard?] of the death Julia Martin of Balinahich
[Ballynahinch?] in New York she was marid [married?] I suppose to
Mr Bells sun [son?] as her husbands name was Bell she died in great
want so that man has little to be proud of when the chit of oppulence
[opulence?] came to that the sins of the fathers were in that case
visited upon the child do not breath one word of what I state to
Albert as he has requested of me not to mention if I find you do it
[?] that [?] [?] as if you did it [?] cause [?] [?]