Main content

Title: Nicholson, Thomas to O'Brien (n. Greeves), Anne, 1821
CollectionThe Transatlantic Letters of an Irish Quaker Family_1818-1877 [B. Jackson]
SenderNicholson, Thomas
Sender Gendermale
Sender Occupationmerchant
Sender ReligionQuaker
OriginFriendsville, NY, USA
DestinationSmithsville, Niagara Co., NY, USA
RecipientO'Brien (n. Greeves), Anne
Recipient Genderfemale
Doc. No.
Partial Date
Doc. Type
Word Count194
Genreabstract of letter, property, family
TranscriptFriendsville, 12th 12 mo 1821
Anne has written to him re their [putative] removal to Friendsville & he mentions a site of 50 acres of woodland suitable for saw & grist mill. Dr Rose offers to take 200 dollars worth [‘of carpentry work, I suppose,’ adds J.R.H. Greeves] to pay for the 50 acres, for which he asks 6 dollars per acre & would deduct 50 dollars in case a saw-mill is erected. He suggests that William come to Friendsville to go into the matter — "I know how disagreeably thou wilt be situated when Uncles family go away". He mentions Uncle Jos visit last summer. "Mary B [Beale] has ... been confined & is now well: she has a little son". —. He [the writer] is too poor to go to
Ireland for a wife: he has a great part of his father's books: they have two cows but never make butter: he mentions
"Anna, jane, Huldah & Charlotte Nicholson's removal to Belfast, where they have set up a shop — my uncle is
not with them - he is a Strange man".

thy truly affectionate cousin
Thomas Nicholson

Anne O'Brien
Smithville Niagara Co. N.Y.