Main content

Title: O'Brien, Joseph Sinton to Maria & Fernando, 1842
CollectionThe Transatlantic Letters of an Irish Quaker Family_1818-1877 [B. Jackson]
SenderO'Brien, Joseph Sinton
Sender Gendermale
Sender Occupationclerk
Sender ReligionQuaker
OriginNYC, USA
DestinationBuffalo, NY, NYC
RecipientMaria & Fernando
Recipient Gendermale-female
Relationshipsiblings / brothers-in-law
Doc. No.
Partial Date
Doc. Type
Word Count650
Genrecongratulations on their wedding, family news, Grandfather's box
TranscriptNew York 11th 1st 1842

Dear Brother and Sister
It is with pleasure that I acknowledge the receipt of Maria's letter giving an account of your union. I congratulate
you on the event and am sure that it will prove a happy one to yon both, and I trust to us all. I am very anxious
to hear from you again after you have got to housekeeping, and to know how Maria likes living in Buffalo. I am
sure that she will like it much better in the winter than the country.
I have to apologise for not writing sooner, but my excuse is want of time as I have had as much as I could do
for the last three weeks, as James spends much of his time at Bays ide this fall, having taken on himself the
responsibility of looking after the farm, which has been heretofore a losing concern, and we are about sending off
a ship to Liverpool, which requires a great deal of running about: so that this letter must be short, having this
evening obtained with difficulty a few minutes before tea.
I yesterday sent a letter to Mother and Father, having had no answer to my last and as Maria did not say how
they were getting along (for which 1 will excuse her this time) I am very anxious to hear from them. I had a letter
from Aunt Susanna a few days ago which was a long time written before I received it and which I meant to answer
as soon as I hear from home again, and [want Maria to tell me what to say about her marriage; she [Susanna] will
think that she ought to have been married in meeting.
She says that Aunt Jane and her husband have been on a visit to England, their first one since they were married,
and Aunt Jane was well pleased with the kind reception his friends gave her. Grandfather had written a letter to
Mother a short time before, which Aunt thinks will be the last as he declines rapidly. Cousin John O'Brien intends
removing to Liverpool and going into business there. I think from what Aunt says he has not been doing very well
where he is. Uncle Thos. health was very poor and he was at the seaside and thought of going to Liverpool with
Aunt Rachel to visit her friends there. David Malcomson is on his way to this country again and will be here this week - he intends going south soon after his arrival and will perhaps spend the winter there. I wish you could see
him - he is the finest little fellow I ever saw.
The box from Grandfather to Mother 1 forwarded yesterday. I had a great deal of trouble getting it through the
Custom House. It contained such a variety of things, every one of which had to be examined.
We have the finest weather for the time of the year that I think I ever saw and I doubt not that you have the same.
I have been very little in the country this fall as James always goes to Bayside on Saturday and I have to stay and
close the office; and on Sunday morning there is no way to go, so I have to content myself with staying at home.

3rd 11 mo 1842
D. Malcomson arrived this morning about 7 o'clock. I have had very little conversation with him yet. He did not
think when he was here two months ago that he ever would be here again. In Ireland in the meantime he saw Aunt
Jane and husband and Aunt Molly, but did not see Grandfather or Aunt Susanna - they were well as usual. Uncle
Thomas was in ... [Warrenpoint?]. I have no more time, and must say farewell. With love I remain

your afft.