Main content

Title: Mrs M.S. Crawford, Cheltenham, to John Crawford, U.S.A.
CollectionIrish Emigration Database
FileCrawford, M.S/57
SenderMrs M.S. (Sherman) Crawford
Sender Genderfemale
Sender Occupationupper middle-class housewife
Sender Religionunknown
OriginCheltenham, England
RecipientCrawford, John
Recipient Gendermale
SourceD 856/D/46: Sharman Crawford Papers Presented by Crawford &Lockart, Solicitors.
ArchiveThe Public Record Office, N. Ireland.
Doc. No.9702161
Partial Date
Doc. TypeEMG
LogDocument added by LT, 10:02:97.
Word Count1345
TranscriptDr. White
For John Sharman Crawford Esq.
[New York address crossed out?]

27 [New York postmark dated 27 Apr 1836?]

Cheltenham March 10th 1836
My Dearest John, I suppose the date of this will not
surprise you - as in one of your letters, you conjectured we
might leave Crawfordsburn this Spring - this day week the
3rd inst. we saild [sailed?] in the Falcon, and had rather
a sick passage of 18 Hours, having a head Wind and if we had
been in any other packet we should have had a much
more tedious passage, I would have written to you before
this, but as you did not expect to be in New York until
April, I thought it useless to write to have it lying there,
Our party here, are James, Ella, Bill, & Eleanor servts
[servants?] Robert & Rose, with your humble [----?] we
have got very nice house in the Crescent & we mean to
remain here until after the Easter Holidays, and then
accompany your father to, or near London, as to our
time of stay or further proceedings that is not determined.
Ella had a very tedious bad sore throat previous to our
leaving home but the change of air, has quite set her up,
Mrs Crawford Corky Bess and Louisa are here and remain
until May Robert & Mary Gordon had left Cheltenham previous
to our arrival; which I was sorry for, but Mrs C. [Crawford?]
and her daughter are as kind as kind can be. I hear I am to have
some visitors - this is a very nice place but this is not the gay
season which does not commence until the middle of May or June.
We have a very nice house very well furnished for 3 Guineas
a week in June it would be double & we are to leave at latest
the middle of May by agreement or pay accordingly - however
I fancy the middle of April will be about the time of our
departure. I expect a visit from your Father on Saturday.
I had a letter from him today written in great spirits.
There had the morning before at 4 o'clock been a division in
the Irish reform Bill when Ministers had a majority of 64
an average of 23 since they the ones on the address. The
Tories are terribly drawn & little hope for them as the
English reform Bill has grown thin a terrible blow & in the
case of a Dissolution Ministry would gain immensely it
remains to be seen how the Lords will behave themselves -
the Orange party did not venture a [division?] when the
suspension of the Orange Society was debated & the leading
[Cumberland?] & [they?] [Lefroy?] &c & having recommended
the poor dupes to acquiesce - it remains to be seen whether
they will or not. I much doubt it but the leaders are
[detached?] so it is quite a desperate game now, - with
them your Father's Bill, Landlord and Tenant, is to be
read tonight. O'C [O'Connell?] has promised to give it his
full support this will make it far easier and pleasanter
- Lord Caledon takes great interest in it and has been
corresponding with your Father [torn] [about?]
it - so Father at present I fear there is not
much chance of it passing at present yet it will not
pass impeded & ultimately may [-----?] Mr Lynch
an eminent lawyer (Member for Galway) has been
giving his best assistance - Your Father mentions that
poor old [Bulhouse?] is in the last stage of existence
he was helped into the House on Tuesday night to give
his Vote. he is dying of a broken heart from the infamous
conduct of his two sons. the Kildare M.P. & Mr Kenneth
[Bulhouse?] they have been detected in the [Mr. A?]
deliberate and infamous cheating & never more can
show themselves., the Kildare Member has not shown
himself in the House this Session & is said to be
on the continent - he has not however resigned his seat
- it prevents expulsion from the Club the with [chin?]
his name in the [A?] no defence can be attempted - their
conduct is almost beyond precedent - Maria Morris is
going to be married but not with the Gentleman English,
to be a clergyman but still in College (Oxford I believe)
about 27 years of age, and small prospects - her
youngest sister in the very last stage of consumption
& an acct [account?] of her death expected every day
so that the marriage will not take place for some time.
James thinks there is hope of Divinity having a family.
Mrs Johnson looking ill - Maria will also have added
to her family before your return from America. she wrote
to you and I forward it by this opportunity but I conjecture
she will not give you this piece of news.
I left all our neighbours as usual - Arthur was at
Crawfordsburn but today would join the circuit at
Carrickfergus - the middle of Jany [January?] he met with
an ugly accident and cut his leg with an adze Ricky
stitched it up, it was not healed when I left home. at
first he had to keep quiet & no thanks to him but
latterly he would limp about which has retarded
his recovery very much - Fredk [Frederick?] is at
Crawfordsburn & will when Arthur leaves him be alone,
until James returns. I wish I had you here, as besides
the pleasure of your company you would be very useful,
both here and in London, particularly when James leaves
us - Next spring I hope if I move I shall have the
felicity of your society - Ella expects your promised
letter which she hopes may be on its Voyage - the
business of Parliament has gone on so speedily that
they expect a short session - and your Father says that
Lord Morpeth told him the Easter Vacation would be short
- Henry (my son) had a bad cold after he went to Dublin
and was attended by Doctor Douglass [Douglas?], he is now
however quite recovered - Charles is writing [Law?] with Mr
Ogle Arthur's old friend in London. I cannot recollect any more
chat, James & Ella wrote to your friend the Captain &
your clothes were forwarded as you desired. we recd
[received?] Sampson's life & the map which is a
very nice one indeed - it was a disappointment to James
& Wm. [William?] Crawford that you did not mention more of Mrs
John Crawford when you were at Baltimore, as they are
uncertain in what state of Finance they are - so when you
write tell all you know about them - Should you be at
Boston Bell Young wishes you would enquire about an
uncle of him his name John Campbell formerly of Belfast
and concerned in a rope walk. he is in business & has
been there many years - if you can meet with him she
wishes you to say you were desired by her - the only
daughter of his closest sister to enquire about him -
& to say she and another are the only surviving relatives
he has - should he wish to send her anything she believes
him [torn] she would not refuse it but she really wishes
to hear if he is alive or something about him - perhaps
Thomas Collins might assist you in the enquiry - remember
that Bell Young's name was Swan - I just recollect I have
three marriages to tell you about, but they
will not much interest you the second Miss Foster
[2nd?] [Frenard's?] Daughter, to Mr Delap her
second cousin they are to be married immediately -
the eldest Miss Nugent [Portaferry?] to Mr Strong,
Sir James Strong eldest son gives great satisfaction
& Miss Mead Genl.[General?] Mead's Daughter, to a
Mr Adair Co. Antrim - his Father & Grand Father,
both alive, but good prospects hereafter - adieu My
Dear John yr [your?] three sisters send their loves &
believe me ever your affectionate Mother
M.F.S. Crawford.