Main content

Title: John Gallier, New York to [Elizabeth Carlisle, Co. Armagh?].
CollectionIrish Emigration Database
FileGallier, John/2
SenderGallier, John
Sender Gendermale
Sender Occupationunknown
Sender Religionunknown
OriginNew York, USA
RecipientCarlisle, Elizabeth
Recipient Genderfemale
SourceT 1790/4/7: No Publication without Permission of Miss D. Quinn, Merriview, Quayhill, Ballycastle, Co. Antrim.
ArchiveThe Public Record Office, Northern Ireland.
Doc. No.9403182
Partial Date
Doc. TypeEMG
LogDocument added by LT, 15:03:1994.
Word Count511
Transcript16 East 25th Street
New York Jany 17th 1867

My Dear Cousin
I am much obliged for
your kind letter of Decr. 8th which I received in due
time - It gave me much pleasure to hear that you
and all your dear family were in the enjoyment of
good health.
I trust you may have an opportunity
before long of geting [getting?] Photographs - but it would not
be adviseable [advisable?] to have them taken, unless you were
satisfied they would be done well; I send you here
with two - one of myself taken a year ago, and
one of little Willie (7 years old taken two weeks back) Margaret's
youngest child - & a great favourite with us all "they say
that I pet him too much" - he is of a most amiable
and lovely disposition; in this respect, resembling
his Mother; with pleasure I will send to
you all the Others, when taken, which I hope
will be sometime in the comeing [coming?] Spring, and also
those of my daughter Mary, and my nephew Jas. [James?] families.
We have very cold weather at present
the Therm. [Thermometer?] has for ten or twelve days past ranged
from zero to six above; the boys appear to like
it, they have great enjoyment and pleasure in
skateing [skating?], (this is the popular winter amusement for young
and old of both sexes in New York) - I find it suits my
health and comfort; better to keep indoors in
such weather.
The two youngest little boys "Willie
& Clement" have been very sick 'with Croup' for a
week, the Doctor attending twice a day, they are
now past all danger from the disease, and will
in a few days be quite well again; the rest of the
family are all very well.
I have been very much interested,
and pleased with a book written by a neighbour
of Ours (when in the Country) entitled a "History
of the Intelectual [Intellectual?] developement [Development?] of Europe" -
Dr Draper the author, is a Gentleman of great industry, and
very studious habits, and is a pleaseing [pleasing?] writer; this
work is evidence of vast research in historical
matters. I intend sending coppy [copy?] of it
to Mr. Locke, by a friend of mine, going
next week to Dublin, who has kindly offered
to 'Mail it there'. If Mr Locke has a taste for
historical reading, he will find this book
interesting although I have read it through
twice I yet take it up occasionally with pleasure
when Mr L has time, I would like to have
his opinion of it.
We purpose erecting a Marble
Monument in memory of brother James and
his wife; when the design is fully decided on
I may perhaps have an opportunity of sending
you a sketch of it.
Margaret desires her kindest love
to you and to your Dear husband and children
- in which I most heartily join. Wishing
you every happiness, attainable here below
Affectionately Your Cousin
John Gallier
I hope my Sister, Mrs McDonald & William are well
- please rememeber me to them when you
see them.