Main content

Title: James Gamble, America, to "Dear Brother and Mother," Co. Down.
CollectionIrish Emigration Database
FileGamble, James/21
SenderGamble, James
Sender Gendermale
Sender Occupationprospects to work on a farm
Sender Religionunknown
DestinationCo. Down, N.Ireland
Recipient Gendermale-female
Relationshipson-mother / brothers
SourceD/3305/1/9: Deposited by Dr K.A. Miller
ArchiveThe Public Record Office, Northern Ireland.
Doc. No.9805347
Partial Date
Doc. TypeEMG
LogDocument added by LT, 14:05:98.
Word Count208
Transcript october 11 1865

dear brother and Mother i write [I write?] you these
few lines to let you know that we are all well
all hid [had ?] a [--- ?] pasage [passage?] of 17 dasy
[days?] and we [---?] 7 of them [---?] we got to williams
on the 4 of this month and it last other giving for our
for our fare i had to hire a [orphan?] from st Johns
and it is 45 Miles this is not [acpilat ?] country
for farming william has 25 acres of land and it costs him
nothing for he has it lent out and he has 4 cows and one
horse value for 40 pounds and he lives Midling [middling?]
comfortable iam [I am?] going to [___?] along with
thomas that is williams oldest son to work work about
50 Miles further away so i have not [---?] any yet here
i hope at to start only helinng [helping?] them to raise
their potatoes and we have have (sic) got them up i will
not say Much More at present as iwill [I will?] say More
in My next.
william and family and Me and Mine in sending our love
to you all in the warmest Maner [manner?]