Main content

Title: William Gamble, Canada, to "Dear Brother", County Down.
CollectionIrish Emigration Database
FileGamble, William/16
SenderGamble, William
Sender Gendermale
Sender Occupationhauls (wood?) with a horse
Sender Religionunknown
OriginSt George, N. Brunswick, Canada
DestinationCo. Down, N.Ireland
Recipient Gendermale
SourceD/3305/1/3 : Deposited by Dr. K. A. Miller.
ArchiveThe Public Record Office, Northern Ireland.
Doc. No.9805349
Partial Date
Doc. TypeEMG
LogDocument added by LT, 14:05:98.
Word Count528
TranscriptSt George 23rd March 1857

Dear Brother

I received your letter last
Monday which gave us much satisfaction to hear that
you were all well and I was very glad to receive a few
lines from my Mother and to hear that she was well. I
am glad that I have it in my power to inform you that
I had a letter from James dated 29th of December last
and he mentioned in it that he was well and also where
Andrew was the same as you did he said that he had got
a letter from Andrew the day before he wrote to me and
he mentioned in it that he had been unwell for some
time but that he was well when he wrote to him. He
says to me that Malcolm had a notion of coming out to
California and he says that he will assist him in
getting out. Before you write again you might have a
chance of hearing what Thomas & John are doing or how
they are getting along and let me know.
I was glad to hear from all my friends and especially
from my Uncle William and to hear that he has got a
son in his old days.
There has been a very
changeable winter here, cold and severe, some days
warm enough to go without a coat and other days too
cold to go out of doors at all, but it is moderate
now and the snow on an average is about a foot and a
half deep the people here in the winter are in the
woods getting out lumber one of the boys has been
employed at that this winter And I have been employed
near home with one of the boys hauling with my own
horse. The wages in the woods for men are from
œ3-10s to œ4-10s per month but a good many are paid
with what they call trade that is Provisions and
One of the boys is going to be working for the man
that I worked for before he offers him œ4 per month
for the Summer that is William John and Thomas and me
has not agreed for any work as yet away from home as I
have to be at home part of the Summer at my own work.
Two of the boys and two of the girls are at the school
we have got an addition to our family a little girl
she is five months old and her name is Catherine.
Markets are high Flour is 2œ [œ2 ?] per barrel of 2 cwt Indian
meal 10s per cut Pork is about œ3 15 per cwt beef is
about 6 per lb here but not so good as it is with you
Potatoes are from 5s to 6s per bushel. Butter from 1d-1s to
1d-2s per lb eggs 10s per dozen Hay is from œ3 to œ3-10s per
Ton We are all well at present hoping that these few
lines will find you the same My Wife and Children join with
me in sending their love to you and your Wife and family
and to My Mother and ever
Remember me as your Affectionate
William Gamble
St George New Brunswick