Main content

Title: Andrew Gibson, Co. Tyrone to Robert Love, U.S.A.
CollectionIrish Emigration Database
FileGibson, Andrew/123
SenderGibson, Andrew
Sender Gendermale
Sender Occupationunknown
Sender Religionunknown
OriginCo. Tyrone, N.Ireland
DestinationN. Carolina, USA
RecipientLove, Robert
Recipient Gendermale
SourceT 3610/1: Photocopied by Courtesy of Mr. John W. M. Love.
ArchiveThe Public Record Office, N. Ireland.
Doc. No.9802539
Partial Date
Doc. TypeLTE
LogDocument added by LT, 09:02:98.
Word Count369
Transcript[To Robert Love, near Gastonia, North Carolina?]

Lisnagirr 2nd June 1788
Dear Brother,
With pleasure I snatch at this oppy
[opportunity?] of getting you a Letter to inform you
that yours of the 4th of Sept 85 [1785?] came safe
to hand the March [foll----?] [torn]
I am very glad to hear of your welfare and prospects [torn]
happiness, the War certainly was very distressing on
many [torn] I hope the survivors of (sic) one day reap
the fruit of their toil - My Family & I enjoy a good
state of health except my Wife who at times is very
much indisposed - My Daughter Martha is married about
a year ago & has got a young Daughter Her husband is
John Irwins youngest Son (Robert). My Son John is
just about to take shipping for Philadelphia, he
expects to see you perhaps in another Season; but not
having a proper Oppy [opportunity?] of a Vessel for
Carolina and being afraid of the [stain] [stain] he
thought proper to try first, the more northerly part
of America
Your Brother Hugh & family, Sister Eleanor & her family
are all well, and nothing remarkable among them
Our Country is now in a distressd situation, neither
the farmer, tradesman, nor beggar can live, owing the
number of Taxes, high price of Land, & [necessary?]
Provisions, which is still growing worse & worse,
Whereas your Country, by report is [growing?] better
& better. Emigration [torn] to turn out as [--on?]
[torn]ionbow Andrew & William Gibson) with their families
intend this year taking shipping at Belfast for
Charlestown, if they came across you, your advice to
them wd [would?] surely be necessary.
Was not my page so near a close I wd [would?] begin
to scold you for neglecting to write oftener, and wd
[would?] include Brother Willm [William?] in my
reflections, having recd [received?] none from neither
of you (except yours) in so long time - I shall
conclude by sending my best respects to yr [your?] Wife
& family also to your Br [Brother?] William his Wife
& family, and Joind [joined?] by my Wife &c.
I am assuredly your very Afft [affectionate?]
Andrew Gibson
P.S. When you write
Direct to the care of Mr.
David Campbell Omagh.