Main content

Title: R. Given, Mobile, USA to J. Given, Dervock
CollectionIrish Emigration Database
FileGivin, Robert/3
SenderGivin, Robert
Sender Gendermale
Sender Occupationmanual labourer
Sender Religionunknown
OriginMobile, Alabama, USA
DestinationCo. Antrim, N.Ireland
RecipientGivin, John
Recipient Gendermale
SourceD 1141/1/2: Presented by Greer, Hamilton and Gailey, Solicitors, High Street
ArchiveThe Public Record Office, Northern Ireland
Doc. No.9011015
Partial Date
Doc. TypeEMG
LogAction By Date Document added by C.R., 10:12:1993.
Word Count696
TranscriptEnvelope marked: Mr John Given
Lisconnan Dervock

Mobile Janry [January?] 22nd 1821
Respective Father
As the Opportunities is
so scarce I Embrace this by Writing to you
two letters. At the same time mostly
on the same subject I Wrote you from Norfolk
I requested An Answer but it had no
time to Come before I left it I Wrote to it
about a Month Ago to see if you had
sent Anny [Any?] letters back but has recd [received ?] no
answer yet - I suppose it is thought said that
I did not go to see my uncle but I being
so far to the South it would cost me
more than One Hundred Dollars to go to him.
I have been Unwell with the
Fever & Ague for some time past but will
with the help of God be well in a week
it is more Unhealthy this place than
the West Indies in Summer being nearly
level with the Sea & Verry [Very?] swampy I
expect to leave this place About [A--Pith--?]
for Ireland or the West Indies I think
I might do midling [middling?] well in it but At
All Events I wont stay long out of Europe
As I am not satisfied with this country
they [there?] will soon be as much opression in
it as in Ireland this is A tolerable good
place to live if One Could retain their Health
I Understand butter was Cheap in Ird [Ireland?]
last [-------- -- -- --?] [folded] milk was here it
would sell for two bits A Quart which is
about 1/s [?] Irish the Crop I suppose was
tolerable with you last season I expect
you would have A good lot of Barley.
the Inhabitants of this Country that
has accumulated Anny [Any?] property works
none At all & their Cattle lives wild in the
woods from the fall until the Spring
when they will be away likly [likely?] 50 miles
if it was not so unhealthy One Could
Make a rapid fortune but summer is
verry [very?] hot However Manny [Many?] is never sick
The Inhabitants of Mobile goes to the
Woods in Summer & returns to town in
Winter locking up All Stores, Congress
is Selling A great deal of land here
& they will not take more than 2 1/2 Do. [Dollars?]
pr. [per?] Acre for it & it is Easy Cleared [----] [fold]
I need not give you an Acct. [Account?] of [----?] [fold]
as the Other Letter tells A Little About [Sho--?] [fold]
Anny [Any?] person fond of Shooting may have
sport Enough in this New State the
Negroes and Indians Will Kill 20 Ducks
in A morning Or some Wild Beasts & the
Alligators is in Hundreds in the river
you will buy a Deer for two Dolls [Dollars?] but [10?]
pence in Iri [Irish?] is thought as much of [as?] a Doll.
[Dollar?] here
Give My Love to the Bally [fold]
Family [---------?] & Dunluce [-?][fold]
them I will see them ere [before?] long As [fold]
All my Friends & Neighbours. I hope [fold]
& My Mother is well Sisters & [fold]
W. Stewart whom I live with has
two sons with Storekeepers in Mobile
the One Aged About 14 [?] & the other about
11 At 20 Dolls. [Dollars?] Each p. [per?] Month so that
men Can Earn plenty but Board is
dear - As I have little else to say I
remain Dr. [Dear?] Father your Most Dutiful
& Obedient Son
Robt. [Robert?] Givin

PS Since writing the within Billy Stewart
& A little son Arrd. [Arrived?] here After a passage of 11
weeks the son has got A situation in a store At 10
Dols. [Dollars?] P. [per?] Mo [Month?]
& found he brings Intelligence of Wm [William?] Allens death
which I am sorry for & A good deal of Other News together
with bad [----?] in Ireland but I hope things will soon mend
[-- -- --?] the opportunities is not
Easy from Irishman to this place but
you might write A Letter to me Care of Wm. [William?]
Stewart & if I get it it is Well
R. G.