Main content

Title: Letters to and from Robert Taylor, Pennsylvania.
CollectionIrish Emigration Database
FileGordon, John/173
SenderGordon, John
Sender Gendermale
Sender Occupationfarmer
Sender Religionunknown
OriginBathcunningham, Co. Down?, N.Ireland
DestinationPennsylvania, USA
RecipientTaylor, Robert
Recipient Gendermale
SourceT 1435: Copied by Permission of Mrs W.A.F. Martin, Tobermoney, Co Down. #TYPE EMG Extracts from Letters, Taylor Family, Ballygoskin & Rathcunningham, Co Down, to Robert Taylor, Buffalo Valley, Pennsylvania U.S.A. 1799 - 1827.
ArchivePublic Record Office, N. Ireland
Doc. No.9001021
Partial Date
Doc. TypeEMG
Log16:01:1990 LT created 24:08:1990 CD input 29:08:19
Word Count475
TranscriptBathcunningham 24 Aprile [April?], 1822
Dr. [Dear?] Robert:
I take this oppertunity [opportunity?] of writing to you, know that I am
still living, thank God for it, But I have been in very bad health this Long
time and no appearance of getting aney [any?] better. I would woish [wish?]
you to send over, of your sons, to Receive your part of the money that I
will give you and your Sister-in-law, Sara Cuffey will give them some part
of her share.
We had bad work in this countery [country?] about two months ago, the
Snodins in Killinchy had their houses and all there [their?] Cows Burned
tile [till?] death. Alexander McKellvy got his hand hurt with a fall and
Can do no work this year past and James Miller is come home from america,
which will be two hundred pounds Alexander McKellvy [Road?] from the Meagor
[Major?] Bailie, his landlord, faile [fail?] not some one of you in coming
over as you may depend on getting one hundred pounds or more, as much as
will take you Back and for it [forby?]. James McGiboney is married to
widdow [widow?] Mcgoffock and hase [has?] her home and his sister, Marget,
[Margaret?] and him hase [has?] divided all her property and every one of
them Living by them selves [themselves?].
Markets here is [no?] very Dear and the money is very scarce and ill to get,
for every Cloath [cloth?] and yarn was never seen Cheaper than what it has
been this year past and appears to get no better. Your friend Mr. Tho's
[Thomas?] Tailor [Taylor?] has 12 Children and his wife had two Twins the
last time about three months ago two little girls. (This Thomas Taylor is
the cousin of Robert, born in 1732 or 34 from which his age may be reckoned
at the time the twins were born, he corresponded with Robert from 1799 to
1827, two of whose letters are copied above. He must have been a
remarkable man. W.F.W.) David McKee in Tollymersows is dead about three
months ago.
[10c?] Took this oppertunity [opportunity?] of sending you this letter with
widdow [widow?] McGoffocks son, who was going over to america and hase
[has?] a brother [in?] Philadelphia, if you would write and send your
letters to McGoffock in Philadelphia he could send it over. Marey [Mary?]
Gowrly is married to John Murdock, son of Marey [Mary?] Megiboney youngest
son, and hase [has?] 34 acres in Islanmore of Mr. Merron at 55s per acre.
The Lease of my Land is done at the time of my death. John McKellvy is
living with me this year past, and will be with me while I live. I add no
more at present but subscribe my self [myself?] your wellwishing friend
till death.
John Gordon
Tho's [Thomas?] Clandinen and his wife send there Best compliments to you