Main content

Title: William Hutton, Toronto, Canada to his brother John.
CollectionIrish Emigration Database
FileHutton, William/28
SenderHutton, William
Sender Gendermale
Sender Occupationunknown
Sender ReligionPresbyterian
OriginToronto, Ontario, Canada
DestinationStrabane, Co. Tyrone, N.Ireland
RecipientMcCrea, John
Recipient Gendermale
SourceD2298/4/2/8: Presented by Messrs. Wilson & Simms, Solicitors.
ArchivePublic Record Office, Northern Ireland.
Doc. No.9307038
Partial Date
Doc. TypeEMG
LogAction By Date Document added by S M, 05:07:1993.
Word Count684
TranscriptToronto 17 Nov 1856

Dear John
I have only time to scribble a few lines to
acknowledge rect. [receipt?] of yrs [yours?] of 30th Oct
[October?] yesterday covering Bill of Exchange for 10 pounds
sterling - Joseph's legacy left by his old Grand Father - he
will be most glad to get it & [and?] will probably purchase its
value in silver plate - he has already a good library & [and?]
is making 1000 pounds per annum for his own share of the
business - They had 27 records this assize now over - he stands
very high with judges and juries To give you an idea of the
business of his & [and?] his partner (Bell & [and?] Hutton) I
may tell you that they were posted from England 150 pounds
worth of stationary this year & [and?] will require the same
almost every year -I am happy to tell you that he is to be
married in the 12th Feb [February?] to a Miss Rose Greer whose
Father is Rector of Belleville & [and?] originally from L'Derry
[Londonderry?] a remarkably fine sensible highly educated &
[and?] highly principled Girl - We have known her from her
infancy & [and?] are delighted with the prospect of his
marriage to her she is the oldest daughter & [and?] one of ten
children living - She will have no fortune except a good
trosseau [trousseau?] but Jos. [Joseph?] does not require it he
is rich & [and?] has a good profession Fanny & [and?] Sarah
(mother & [and?] daughter) are going down to Belleville to
prepare his house after New Years day & [and?] also to be with
Anna Panton as she expects to be confined about that time. They
are to live in Sidney Cottage our old place - Rose Greer has an
immense connection I may safely say hundreds of cousins &c
[et cetera?] - Her Great Grand Mother is still alive - she is
23 yrs [years?] of age -
We have all much cause to thank you for your exertions to carry
out your dear old Fathers Will - not for the value in money -
but for the principles of the thing - as if unpaid it would
have left an unpleasant impression as to dear Fanny's relatives
in pecuniary matters in the mind of the junior branches who
could not be aware as F. [Fanny?] & [and?] I are of the untoward
circumstances connected with the whole matter from the beginning
to end - I am very glad you succeeded in receiving these
legacies - We always knew no possible blame could attach to you
& [and?] not only that but that you would probably be obliged to
outrage the finest feelings of the human heart before you could
obtain what was justly due - We fear now that you must have
suffered a good deal but we have all unpleasant duties to perform
at times & [and?] there is a point beyond which it is not right
for endurance to go -
I am happy to tell you that I have the promise from our Chief Hon
[Honourable?] Mr Van [------?] that my salary is to be raised to
560 pounds - per annum & [and?] other possibilities make it 600

pounds. We were sorry to hear of dear little Willie's accident &
[and?] his mother must have been greatly frightened - All are
well and happy much better for being in our nice new house Willie
went to [-------?] with the girls yesterday & [and?] is quite
well & [and?] is a great source of pleasure to all our family -
He drops in whenever he pleases & [and?] there is always a
welcome for him - We rather suppose he will be at Joe's wedding
- he saw Miss Greer when on a visit to us about 5 or 6 weeks
since - We have room now in our house for any of you that would
come over to see us - Dear Mary would meet a hearty welcome -
Much love to all dear ones -
Your loving brother
William Hutton