Main content

Title: Letter from William Hutton to John McCrea, Strabane
CollectionIrish Emigration Database
FileHutton, William/35
SenderHutton, William
Sender Gendermale
Sender Occupationunknown
Sender ReligionPresbyterian
OriginToronto, Ontario, Canada
DestinationStrabane, Co. Tyrone, N.Ireland
RecipientMcCrea, John
Recipient Gendermale
SourceD 2298/4/2 Deposited by Messrs. Wilson and Simms, Solicitors.
ArchiveThe Public Record Office, Northern Ireland.
Doc. No.9310125
Partial Date
Doc. TypeEMG
LogAction By Date Document added by C. McK., 06:10:19
Word Count591
TranscriptLetter from William Hutton dated 24th December, 1856
to John McCrea, Strabane

B of A & [and?] S. Toronto
Decb. [December?] 24th 1856

Dear John,
I have just time to scribble a few lines to
wish you all a merry xmas [Christmas?] & [and?] a
happy new year altho' [although?] you will not
receive the expression of good will before the 8th
or perhaps the 9th Prox. [Proximo?] - I send you a
new edition of [--?] [--?]aill by this post. The
appendices of which are added by the sanction of this
bureau & [and?] the little work contains a vast amount
of reliable information for intending emigrants to
whom you could lend it if you know of any such - the
conditions of the Free Grants & [and?] every thing
about them are to be found in two or three of the
appendices - Joseph is on a visit with us just now
come to spend my birthday the 22nd Inst. [Instant?] also
xmas [Christmas?] day with us & [and?] buy furniture
previous to his marriage to Rose Greer a very sensible
fine girl & [and?] every way a desirable connection -
He is making more than £1000 per annum by his business
so that he may safely marry - He has purchased very
handsome curtains green & [and?] gold & [and?] crimson
& [and?] also good carpets and furniture to the extent
of nearly £200 - His sisters will make them up for him
& [and?] are busy as [----?] - he is to be married on
12th Feb.[February?] Rose is to have six bridesmaids
dressed in rich pink silk with white opera cloaks -
but I daresay Mary Hutton has told your Mary all about
it - The party in the evng. [evening?] will be given
by the lady of his partner Mrs Bell who has a fine large
house - It will be a very gay affair - the four girls
will be there & [and?] your Willie - He played four or
five rubbers of whist with us last night & [and?] is a
great favourite with the girls & [and?] us all - he has
been lately learning to skate & [and?] comes on finely
We fear brother Sam cannot be alive - Willie has written
to the persons where he formerly resided or at least
where his last address was but has not heard from them
in reply - If he were alive he would be sending for more
money Fanny and I feared the £50 you sent him would be his

death warrant - you ought to enquire if the Bk. [Bank?] of
Belfast (where you got the bill) ever paid it & [and?] if
so you ought to see if Sams own signature was attached -
It might be a forgery - but I think it very probable the
letter is in the dead letter office in the State of N. [New?]
York - & [and?] never has been cashed by the Bank & [and?] as
there is little care or honor on these matters as far as the
U. [United?] States Govt. [Government?] is concerned it will
be difficukt to trace it any further - if not cashed it might
be well to warn the Bank not to cash it till you see the
signature - some sharpers in the dead letter office or else
here might try to appropriate it - much love to all dear
friends about & [and?] around you - the messenger is about
leaving your loving brother William Fanny is this moment
come to the office & [and?] sends her love to all the dear
W [William?] Hutton