Main content

Title: M. Johnston, British Columbia, to George Kells, Ireland
CollectionIrish Emigration Database
FileJohnston, Margaret Emily/37
SenderJohnston (n. Kells), Margaret Emily
Sender Genderfemale
Sender Occupationhousewife
Sender Religionunknown
OriginVancouver, British Columbia, Canada
RecipientKells, George
Recipient Gendermale
SourceCopies Provided by Dr. R.T.B. McClean, 41 Deanfield, Bangor, Co Down, BT19 6NX, tmccwwore@hotmail.com
ArchiveDr. R.T.B. McClean
Doc. No.312034
Partial Date
Doc. TypeEMG
LogDocument added by LT, 05:12:2003.
Word Count407
Transcript$$H318 Part of the Dr R.T.B. McClean Catalogue$$H

$$W o=Click Here for Images;%\0312027.htm;none; VIEWER DEFAULT$$W

A letter, dated 24th June 1900, to George Kells (1854 - 1929)
in Ireland from his sister, Mrs. Margaret Emily Johnston
(1870 - 1919) who lived at that time in Vancouver, British Columbia.

June 24th

Dear Geo [George?],
In reply to your
welcome letter which I
I received some time ago.
I was very much surprised
to learn of Poor little Ethel's
death. She appeared to be so
strong and Healthy. But of
course it was from the
effects of her teeth she died.
it was really too bad if it could
be helped. I am sure Sarah was very
lonely after her. My Baby
is getting on very well. She
has 4 teeth and is cutting some
more. she has not been sick
with them. she is making an
offer to walk. well George
you will see by the heading
of this letter that I am still
in Vancouver. I have decided
to go to live where Alex has his
New Mill as I would be alone
most part of the time if I did
not. our House is rented to a
good tenant and I will leave
them on in it. I will be leaving
Vancouver in a week or 10 days
so as soon as I get settled
I will drop you a line and
Send you the address of place.
I do hear from Dick quite
often through one and another.
Eva and I sends him money
on turn. it is a great pity of
the Poor fellow. I think Bob
will not do very much for him.
I have not seen Mary Anne or
Henry since I came back. But
they are well. I do see Eva every
day. She will write to you in
a day or so. As soon as I get
settled down, I will send to
that Party in Ballinasloe
and have them ship a Headstone
to Ballyconnell, for Father and
Mother's grave. So I wish you to
send me his address. I forget his
name, do not forget. I will
pay for it myself and that
30 shillings that Bob got
from Uncle will put it up.
I will write to Uncle very soon.
I suppose the old Home looks
very lonely now. there is a great
change in one year. I think Dick
is very well Content. Malcomson
gives his work to do and
pays him a shilling and his
Board. so He will be able to
manage. Now dear Geo [George?] I will
conclude for the present, hoping
to find you all well, as we
are all. Alex joins in sending
his love to you.
Your Affect Sister
M.E. Johnston

Margaret Emily (Maggie) Johnston
(nee Kells)

Note: Reference to Brothers
Dick (Richard)
Bob (Robert)