Main content

Title: [W. Paton?], Armagh, to George Dunbar, [Belfast?].
CollectionIrish Emigration Database
FilePaton, William/28
SenderPaton, William
Sender Gendermale
Sender Occupationaccountant? Solicitor?
Sender Religionunknown
OriginArmagh, N.Ireland
RecipientDunbar, George
Recipient Gendermale
SourceD.664/D/222A: Presented by Arthur Pack-Beresford, Esq., Woburn, Millisle, County Down, Ireland.
ArchiveThe Public Record Office, Northern Ireland.
Doc. No.9601146
Partial Date
Doc. TypeLET
LogDocument added by LT, 11:01:96.
Word Count259
TranscriptArmagh 23rd March 1863

My dear Sir,
I received a list of
McReynolds's debts from Mr Jones
the Curate at Ardtrea upwards
of a month ago; it amounts to
œ280, & I know that McReynolds
owes his sister about œ50 in
addition. I annex a copy
of the list which Mr Jones says
was left with him, with a
request that he should forward
it to me & he adds he thinks it
probable there may be more.
I think however that œ350
will be the outside. What
I would suggest would be that
the family should get a portion -
say one third & that the residue
should be paid to the creditors
in proportion to their claims.
Of course I should take care
to ascertain that each claim
was legitimate before paying
anything. - McReynolds wife
I think wishes to emigrate & leave
him, and from all I hear they
would perhaps be better settled,
for he is a sort of imbecile
& she is no great things. If I
am right about this it might be
well to give her what would take
her out of the Country - say œ10 or
œ15. I should be able to get
the most reliable information as
to all these matters from Mr Jones
to whom I shall write by the post.
The 3 1/2 years rent to Nov. last
amounts to œ52.17.9 & the costs will
be about œ3 - say œ56 in all, to be
deducted in the first place.
I should say that McReynolds
is about 45 years of age

I remain
Yours very faithfully

G. [George?] Dunbar Esquire