Main content

Title: Jane Ritchie, Antrim, to Samuel Warwick, U.S.A.
CollectionIrish Emigration Database
FileRitchie, Jane/13
SenderRitchie, Jane
Sender Genderfemale
Sender Occupationfarmer
Sender ReligionProtestant
OriginCo. Antrim, N.Ireland
RecipientWarwick, Samuel
Recipient Gendermale
SourceCopyright retained by Carol L. Green, 334 Wyatt Court NE, Salem,OR 94301
ArchiveThe Ulster American Folk Park
Doc. No.9807263
Partial Date
Doc. TypeLTE
LogDocument added by LT, 07:07:98.
Word Count431
Transcript Dunsilly
23rd March 1911

Dear Brother Samuel

I received your letter and was very glad to hear from you and you [sic] and family is getting on well as for myself i [I?] am doing as well as i [I?] can. After sister Margret died Andrew was a little unlucky his house was burned he then sold his farm to brother Robert and he still works here with John. After John got married Robert repaired up the house again and as i [I?] was living all alone at [Anniestown?] Robert agreed with me to come and live with him on Margrets [Margret's?] farm. I felt very lonely after Robert died of course i [I?] am not all alone as brother John [John's?] oldest daughter Sarah Eliza stays with me she is 4 years old she
is not at school yet I keep 2 cows and 2 calfs [calves?] and 2 pigs and 28 hens I labour none it is all in graising [grazing?] and hay excet the garden i [I?] can raise what potatoes and vegetables [does?] myself on it Well Samuel as i [I?] have no one but myself to look after the cows and
calfs [calves?] and pigs i [I?] cannot get a trip over to America to see you But i [I?] think as your family is grown up and is able to look after
the Farm that you and your Mistress [Mrs?] should take a visit over here to Ireland and spend a few weeks with us. Brother John and his Mistress [Mrs?] and family is well [the?] [they?] have 8 children Sarah Eliza and Maggie and James Sarah Eliza lives here with me the [they?] are all well and getting on well Martha and her husband and son is well and doing well
When brother James died Margret [Margaret?] and Robert sold the Farm at [?] and Robert went over to New York to his brothers and Margery went to Larne to her brother Samuel the [they?] have a posh shop there and is getting
on well. Brother James [James'?]sons [adress?] [address?] John Warwick 581 Fulton Street [Brooklyn?] New York and Roberts [Robert's?] address [address?] is 43 Fortgreene Place Brooklyn New York and as for Franks [Frank's?] and William address [address?] i [I?] do not know them Sister inlaw Ellen and her family is well and getting on well I think this is all i [I?] can say at present as this letter leaves me in good health hopping [hoping?] your all enjoying the same blessing write soon
I remain,
your loving sister

Jane Ritchie