Main content

Title: Jane Ritchie, Antrim, to Samuel Warwick, U.S.A.
CollectionIrish Emigration Database
FileRitchie, Jane/27
SenderRitchie, Jane
Sender Genderfemale
Sender Occupationfarmer
Sender ReligionProtestant
OriginCo. Antrim, N.Ireland
RecipientWarwick, Samuel
Recipient Gendermale
SourceCopyright Retained by Carol L. Green, 334 Wyatt Court NE, Salem,OR 94301
ArchiveThe Ulster American Folk Park
Doc. No.9807262
Partial Date
Doc. TypeLTE
LogDocument added by LT, 07:07:98.
Word Count492
13th January

Dear Brother
I write you a few lines to let you know that we are all well hopping [hoping?] you are all the same I got your letter and was glad to
to [sic] hear from you The Old country is much the same but the Old people
is passing away and young ones getting up It was a very wet season last the crops was not to [too?] good Potatoes and Turnips was very small it was very hard to get Hay and Oats saved with so much wet weather I keep one Cow and three Calves and a few fowls it is quite enough for me to feed and look after. Well Brother i [I?] will tell you about some of our friends as far as i [I?] know. James daughter Maggie she is a widow and has six of a
family there is Four boys and two girls the [they?] are all at business [business?]. [Hessie?] she is Married and lives in Ballymena she has six of a family. Two boys and Four girls the [they?] are small the [they?] are
at school Samuel and Margery lives at Larne the [they?] are still single the [they?] keep a posh shop and is getting on well the rest of James family is in New York i [I?] do not Know what occupation the [they?] follow
Davids [David's?] widow and family is well The two oldest boys work at
home with their Mother his Daughter Jane is married she lives in
Belfast her husband is a chip carpenter the [they?] have four of a family the [they?] are all boys. The to [two?] youngest boy is in Belfast [?] there is one of them a ship carpenter he is married about eight months ago the youngest one is learning to be a [-latter?] Martha Ann and Husband and son is well and getting on well Brother John and Mistress [Mrs?] and Family is well the [they?] have four 2 girls and 2 boys Sarah Lizza [Eliza?] she lives here with [me?] she is six years old There is Maggie and [Sam?] and
John are the youngest Margets [Margaret's?] son andy is well he is still working with John I will tell you the ages of our family as near as i [I?] can when the [they?] died Father was 78 when he died Mother was 90 James was 77 David 73 Robert was 76 Margret was 69 Mary 36 Sarah Eliza 46 I am 73 past myself so you see i [I?] am wearing pretty old myself we belong still to Kilswatter [Kilswater?] and goes pretty regular Brother John has a
car. And his Mistress [Mrs?] can drive to [too?] so i [I?] can get with either of them as the [they?] generally go sabbeth [Sabbath?] about I will now Close at this time hopping [hoping?] to have a letter from you
soon I remain you [your?] Loving

Sister Jane Ritchie