Main content

Title: William W. Shanks, Chicago, U.S.A., to Dear Mother, Co.Down
CollectionIrish Emigration Database
FileShanks, William/13
SenderShanks, William
Sender Gendermale
Sender Occupationsailor
Sender Religionunknown
OriginChicago, Illinois, USA
DestinationBallyfounder, Co. Down, N.Ireland
RecipientMrs Shaw
Recipient Genderfemale
SourceD2709/1/53: Presented by Miss Shanks, Portaferry, Co.Down
ArchiveThe Public Record Office, Northern Ireland
Doc. No.9501220
Partial Date
Doc. TypeEMG
LogDocument added by LT, 20:01:1995.
Word Count208
TranscriptChicago March 22 1888

Dear Mother
I write you these few lines hoping this will find you as it
leaves me at presant [present?] I send you this ticket you will
have to pay your way to Liverpool as I could not get a pass
for you unless I was sending a stearage ticket it would be
better for Nick you all could come sooner he ought to be here
now you need not be particular in making much stuff woolens
[woolleens?] is the only thing that is cheaper there but if
you want sewing done you will get it done here as my Aunt
Bella has a machine and my wife has one so it is much quicker
one pair of boots and two suits of clothes that is one good
suit under clothes is the dearest here Nicky ought to bring
his Books with him as he might like to study here as it is
quicker two years from where he is now
I hope James is getting along good as we are doing bravely,
and keeps good health, you will give my kind love to James
Mrs family Eliza David & family Bella John & family hoping to
see you soon, I remain your affactionate [affectionate?]
Son William Shanks