Main content

Title: Wm. Shanks, Cheboygan, U.S.A., to "Dear Mother", Ireland
CollectionIrish Emigration Database
FileShanks, William/32
SenderShanks, William
Sender Gendermale
Sender Occupationsailor
Sender Religionunknown
OriginCheboygan, Michigan, USA
DestinationBallyfounder, Co. Down, N.Ireland
RecipientMrs Shaw
Recipient Genderfemale
SourceD2709/1/59: Presented by Miss Shanks, Ballyfounder, Portaferry, County Down
ArchivePublic Record Office, Northern Ireland
Doc. No.9501353
Partial Date
Doc. TypeEMG
LogDocument added by LT, 26:01:1995.
Word Count438
TranscriptCheboygan June 28 1890

Dear Mother

I was glad you got home safe and was not sea sick, and I hope
this will find you all enjoying good health as it leaves me
and I guess the rest in good health as it is two weeks since
I was in Chicago I am going to South Chicago from here we are
still nocking [sic] at it as useal [usual?] John is still
mate with me and Nick is still on the Rome he is promoted to
wheelsman, I guess the Captain would like him for his
daughter. I have bought bonds with his money and Johneys so
it is all right, I have not much to say, James thinks you are
in the country and he says he wants to go on the big car to
see you Jane is the same wee cricket she can boss James when
he goes to tell me any thing on her she will scold like a
good one I don't know who she takes it by, this is news James
Brown is married to the Michigander [a person derived from a
Michigan area?] and brought her to Chicago and my Mother in
law has a pet pig Mrs Ashton and family is at her Sister's in
Mrs Dr [Doctor?] J, D, P, Walsh is visiting her Mother Mrs
Capt. [Captain?] Martin and also the young son, her Husband
Dr [Doctor?] J D P. Walsh came two weeks later to escort his
wife and wife's sister Miss Maggie J. Martin to his home in
Denver Colorado My Aunt was saying she missed you bad you
would come in handy about the baby as the could get no girl
the would'nt go to stop a few weeks
I think I have told you all so I would like to know that is
when you get rested If you could put a stone up you said you
would have to get the right away from Old Nick you can find
out from him how it would be and let me know as soon as
possable [possible?]
If you was in Belfast and seen one that suited you I would
think from œ20 to œ25 Twenty pounds to 25 pounds not dollars
you could buy it at sixty days that would give me time enough
to raise it and you would have it, in that time, I will close
with kind love to you and James and wife and family Liza &
David and family and all my freinds and acquaintances
I remain your affactionate [affectionate?] Big son Wm
[William?] Shanks

you'l [you will?] get tired reading this