Main content

Title: Sara Stigley, Lexington, U.S.A. to R.B. Shaw, Lisburn, N.Ireland.
CollectionIrish Emigration Database
FileStigley, Sara/20
SenderStigley, Sara
Sender Genderfemale
Sender Occupationfarmer / cotton plantation owner?
Sender Religionunknown
OriginLexington, Kentucky?, USA
DestinationLisburn, Co. Antrim, N.Ireland
RecipientShaw, Richard B.
Recipient Gendermale
SourceDonated by Mr. W. Shaw, 4 Coolreaghs Rd., Cookstown, Co. Tyrone, Transcribed by Ruth-Ann Harris, Brookline, U.S.A.
ArchiveUlster American Folk Park.
Doc. No.9702262
Partial Date
Doc. TypeEMG
LogDocument added by LT, 24:02:97.
Word Count441
TranscriptMr. R. B. Shaw
Laurel Glen

Oak Hall, [Lexington,
August 10th, 1870
My Dear Richard,
You must excuse my long silence as
sickness was the cause. Annie was sick here for two
months. She lost a sweet little Babe 9 weeks old.
She and Fannie are at the Springs. Besides other
sickness, I had a brother-in-law to die. I thought
a great deal off [of?] he [his?] sons so kind and
thoughtful about me.
Tell Mary I have just received a letter from John
saying he is coming to see me. I will be delighted
to see him. I suppose you all hear from them
regularely [regularly?]. It seems strange that none of
the family is at home. I wish Mary would write to me.
I am glad to learn the Wilkinson family are all doing
well. I never hear from James. I see a card from
James Shaw in Texes [Texas?]. He is a candidate for
Commissioner of the General Land Office. Their [There?]
is no B to his name, still I think it must be him.
Oliver and Mr. Garland have been to see me lately.
The [they?] are both well. The [they?] were not able to
procure Labour this year and it is very trying on them.
You ask me what kind of Labour we have. I dont [don't?]
believe Emigrants from your part could stand the sun
here to labour in the field. I would like so much to
get a family in the [yard?] that I could rely on. A
woman to cook that could wash and Iron, Milch [Mulch?]
and the man to Garden, cut wood and job about. Such as these
are in great demand. I would like so much to have you
here if you could stand the climate. We have had the
hottest dryest [driest?] summer we have had
for years. If [it?] was not not the nights
are so pleasant I dont believe
we would exist. The crops will be sort [short?] in
consequence of the Drout [drought?]
I fear this war will Effect our Cotton Market
considerably. I [-?] was in hopes we would not have
any more war in my day. Do send me your photograph.
I sent mine to Liverpool. I suppose that will do for
all. Aunt [Ham-?] writes with me in much love to Mary
and Ellen Moat, reserving a good portion for yourself.
Your ever affectionate Sister
Sarah Stigler

[On back of letter, apparently written to her nephew [?]
[John?] Your Cousin Fannie and Annie is at the Springs,
the [they?] late [lately?] being quite delicate. No one
with me but John George and Aunt [Ham-?]?]

[Written across the above] You will see I have been
writing to John and made the mistake.