Main content

Title: Rose McCormack, New Orleans to [Rose Mc Donnell?], Co Westmeath
CollectionIrish Emigration Database
FileWilliams, Rose/7
SenderWilliams, Rose
Sender Genderfemale
Sender Occupationunknown
Sender Religionunknown
OriginNew Orleans, Louisiana, USA
DestinationCo. Westmeath, Ireland
Recipient Genderfemale
SourceDonated by olive Murphy, Nee Mc Donnell, Cloran, Athboy, co Westmeath
ArchiveOlive Murphy
Doc. No.709035
Partial Date
Doc. TypeEMG
LogDocument Added by JM, 12/09/07
Word Count255
TranscriptN O [New Orleans?] April 5th 1880

Dear aunt
I Received your
letter some time since also
a newspaper for which I am
obliged and in which I see
that the distress in Ireland
is very great but I hope
that It maybe over soon.
There have been all sorts of
entertainments given here in
aid of the relief fund also
private contributions and
considering the dull times
here I think that we have made
a pretty good showing enclosed
you will find my photograph
also those of my son and
daughters, Rosa & Linnie
Rosa has been married
since November last. She is
living with me. I was over
to see Tom and his family
last week. They are all enjoying
good heath, but times are
pretty hard with them.
He has four children
I received a letter last week
from Patrick. He and his
family are enjoying good
health. I have not heard
from William yet but expect
to get some news from him
soon, and if I do my son
may go and see him this
Summer, that is if business
improves any. If I could only
afford it I would like very
much to go to Ireland and
see my native town and the
surrounding country. But
I have very little hopes of
ever seeing the old country
though I would like very
much to go.
When you answer give me
all the news about Ireland.
Me and my children send
our love and best wishes to
you and yours.
Hoping to receive an answer
from you soon
I remain
your affectionate Neice
Rose Williams

Transcribed by Andrew Redfern