Main content

Title: Hamilton Young, New York, to "Dear Matty", Ireland.
CollectionIrish Emigration Database
FileYoung, Hamilton/37
SenderYoung, Hamilton
Sender Gendermale
Sender Occupationgoods trader
Sender Religionunknown
OriginNew York, USA
DestinationBelfast, N.Ireland
RecipientYoung, Martha
Recipient Genderfemale
SourceD 729/22: Presented by Miss Duffin, Mount Pleasant, Stranmillis, Belfast.
ArchiveThe Public Record Office, Northern Ireland.
Doc. No.9604015
Partial Date
Doc. TypeEMG
LogDocument added by LT, 04:04:96.
Word Count323
TranscriptDear Matty New York 7 February 1787
Since writing you the 29 past by the ship
George Captain Archer who saild [sailed?] the next day for
Belfast. The 5th Just Recd [received?] your welcome
favor [favour?] of the 28 Novr [November?] & thank you for the
Remittance you mention, & hope you will
not [anoppy?] to send the sheeting & Diaper
I think the conduct of Lord Dougal is
exceptionable for he will find the Pottinger
Estate had the right of the County Down
side of the Harbour to low water mark
from Belinafore to Conswatter [Connswater?] so that no
person was allowed to [dr---?] [as---?] for
fish [less?] [they?] permission of the owner of
that Estate this [Person?] [live?] to have heard
[Canvised?] - Mr Sadler sails in 2 or 3 Days
in a ship for Newry, John, [Erving?] has very
great [leastd?], tho I believe he is as [every?] person
man - Since my return [here?] mar 68
I have recd [received?] a great deal of polite friendship
& [Civility?] from Charles Ward Apthorpe Esq
The Lady when living, or Sister of my friend
Charles McEvers, he is a great naturalist
I have had a general invitation from the
time I mention to one of the prettiest [repose?]
I have seen in this Country, about 7 miles
from this City and New York Island where
I spend some days very [way?] as [Jeand?]
wish, he is anxious to have a few
Gold finches out, could you send me a half a
dozen [Corp?] [birds?], it woud [would?] realy
[really?] make me happy to show my attention
to him, he is one of the first familys [families?] &
[fortmen?] in this part of the world &
now here I am more at my ease. I shant [shall not?]
trouble you with many more Coments [comments?]
untill [until?] I hope to have the pleasure of seeing
[--my] with Love &c HY [Hamilton?] [Young?]