Main content

Title: Sally McKee, New York to James B Gillmer, Co. Down.
CollectionIrish Emigration Database
Filemckee, sally/35
SenderMcKee, Sally
Sender Genderfemale
Sender Occupationunknown
Sender Religionunknown
OriginNYC, New York, USA
DestinationMayfield, Co. Down, N.Ireland
RecipientGillmer, James B.
Recipient Gendermale
SourceD 3561/A/18: Papers of Prof. E. R. R. Green, Deposited by Dr. P. R. Green.
ArchiveThe Public Record Office, Northern Ireland.
Doc. No.9311030
Partial Date
Doc. TypeEMG
LogAction By Date Document added by C McK., 03:11:199
Word Count524
Transcript(Copies of emigrant letters collected by and
sent to ERR Green as part of his research
project on emigration)

Jany 1850

From: Sally McKee
43 Orange St 21, T

Envelope: James B Gillmer [Gilmer?] Esqr
Ireland, Co. Down.

Per Boston Steamer

My dear Sir
Mr McElroys Son brought your kind
letter to me Saturday 19th I took the
duplicate to his Father (they keep an
extensive dry good Store on this Street close
by in Broad Way ) in the evening he will get
it cashed in the Bank to day where he is on
[one?] of the Directors The only I can
account for your letter going astray is Mr
Chapman being left the city and us
having moved to a different part of the city
a few weeks after Mr Chapman failed he
moved from Brooklyn State N [New?] York to
Hoboken New Jersey I suppose you directed to
his care as all letters that are not
properly directed for the letter carrier are
advertised he gets two cents for each letter
Mr Chapmans number was changed from 278 to
550 now the number of it is 648 if he had not
left the city it would have made no difference
as he paid for a Box in the Post Office and
sent for his letters to it I am glad your
children are all living and that you are all
well also our other Friends I am in good
health and able to around slowly
I have had several letters from Mary since
she left me they are very nice folks she is
with in her last she said Miss Chapman
had given her ten dollars and told her she
would settle on the 1st of the month I was
beginning to fear she was going to get no pay

at the first (she has to give 3/4 of a dollar
per dozen for her washing) her residence is
near to the Lockharts. Mr Thomas Lockhart Senr
was married to my Husbands Aunt she
died a month after their arrival I dare say
eighteen years ago his only daughter Mrs
Logan and her little daughter live with Thomas
Lockhart Junr [Junior?] keeps Wholesale
Trimming Store in Wm. [William?] St.
the firm is Lockhart and Gibson his brother
Samuel and family came out a year last Summer
he is in the Store with Thos [Thomas?] they
all reside near to each other and are very
attentive to Mary. Robert is very attentive at
Mr Chapman has taken a Tobacco Factory in
N [New?] York he left this by Rail way
[Railway?] to set agoing [going?] there
on the 17th Mrs George and her two Children
are with my Sister they arrived here ( (sic)
from ten miles beyond St Louis in
Missuri [Missouri?] in Nov. left
George teaching in a large School. they went
to the country in Summer when The cholera
broke out. Mr Chapman has written for him to
leave that at the end of his quarter.
They [The?] family will leave Albany at
May. I dont know what we will
do yet I think the Mr Lockharts will be
the best to advise with when it comes nearer
to May They are wise steady people. I am
sorry to hear of the condition of Ireland.
Robert unites with me in kind love to you
Mrs Gilmer [Gillmer?] and family

Yours affectionately
Sally McKee