Main content

Title: "W", to Caroline Williamson, Rockmacreeny, County Armagh
CollectionIrish Emigration Database
Sender Gendermale
Sender Occupationworks at a warehouse
Sender Religionunknown
DestinationCo. Armagh, N.Ireland
RecipientWilliamson, Caroline
Recipient Genderfemale
Relationshipfriends? Relatives?
SourceT 2680/2/17: Copied by Permission of W. P. Williamson, Esq., Ahorey House, Richhill, County Armagh. #TYPE EMG "W", [Location?], to Caroline Williamson, Rockmacreeny, County Armagh, [Ireland?], c.1856 [No Date].
ArchivePublic Record Office, Northern Ireland.
Doc. No.9007156
Partial Date
Doc. TypeEMG
Log31:07:1990 S.C.#CREATE created 12:10:1990 CD input
Word Count512
TranscriptTo:- Mrs [Caroline] Williamson
Rockmacraney [Rockmacreeny?], [County Armagh?]

Dear Caroline
I received yours of the 31st ult[imate?] per
McWalker & it gives me the greatest pleasure to
learn from the contents that you & all the rest
of the Family are well - I should begin by
making an apology for not writing sooner
but I have so little spare time that when I could
sent a letter by hand the opportunity would
be gone before I would have le[i?]sure to have it
wrote - I congratulate you in the additional
happiness you must derive in your having got
a daughter to supply the place of Miss W[illiia?]mson
who I understand is on the eve of changing
her name. I think she is perfectly in the right
as according to the old adage "a good thing can
-not be done too soon" - any thing that can
conduce towards her happiness must be a
source of gratification to me & I sincerely
hope she may enjoy all the felicity in the
connubial state which she deserves - & if the
Big pot (which Mr W[illia?]mson had such a wish for) is
not already won I hope she may yet have
it to grace her kitchen corner at the Poke
mill - I have little prospect at
present of seeing any of you for sometime
longer - as it would be an impossibility for
me to leave this, there being no person in
the warehouse but myself - Robert (who takes
this) has been here for the last week getting some
accounts settled - he was present at Miss
Poolers wed[d?]ing the day or two before he left the
country - I understand by him that
Sally is one of the party that accomp[ani?]es
her to Dundalk. Th[oma?]s Pooler left this
for Dundalk the day before they could
arrive there so that you see no distance will
seperate [separate?] lovers - I think it rather odd
that she should go there in place of Fra[nce?]s
a [Hammite?] & its my opinion that it must
have been a preconcerted scheme between
he & his sister - I'm sure my Mother must
have been ignorant of Mr P being at Dundalk
or she would never have let Sally go there
I would suppose that the shorter time she
stops there so much the better
There is little news here except what you are
acquainted with the times are still bad & little
prospect of their mending - I have got a s[light?]
cold from the clothes being kicked off me by [a?]
restless bedfellow tell Miss W that I hope she
wont experience the same inconvenience &
that the next time I have the pleasure of seeing
her I expect she will have one on her kne[e?]
& two in her arms - I expect to hear from
you as soon as possible & I will promise to be
more punctual in replying than formerly
Remember me to y[ou?]r Father W[illia?]mson & Miss W & all
the family & Believe me D[ea?]r Caroline y[ou?]r aff[ectionate?]
W [Rolbes?]
take care this is not seen