Main content

Title: McMahon Glynn, Patrick to Glynn, Ellen, 1894
CollectionPatrick McMahon Glynn: Letters to his family (1874-1927) [Gerald Glynn O'Collins]
SenderMcMahon Glynn, Patrick
Sender Gendermale
Sender Occupationlawyer
Sender Religionunknown
OriginAdelaide, South Australia, Australia
DestinationGort, Co. Galway, Ireland
RecipientGlynn, Ellen
Recipient Genderfemale
Doc. No.
Partial Date
Doc. Type
Word Count352
Genremoney, family, decease
TranscriptQueens Chambers
Pirie St. Adelaide
Sept. 11th 1894

My dear Mother
It is longer than I suspected since I wrote to you, but Eugene
told me he had kept up communications. You can send the enclosed
£5 to Elizabeth, which would be £10, if I had not to place another
with a friend today. I was very glad to get the photos you sent; the
one of the drawing room contains a lot. It is strange that the sight of
the picture of the lady of, I suppose, the last century over the piano,
seemed at first glance as a familiar memory of yesterday. I was very
sorry indeed to hear of James' wife's death—but such is life and luck.
You remember Honor Daly. She was here recently, I believe as
much to see me as to get an application made to the Court for
maintenance of her Brother Thomas, at present in a lunatic asylum.
She was old Daly's daughter, of New Quay. Her brother Charles, [?]
Pauladuff, was here yesterday. He says he still has a flute he bought
in the Shop. Honor's husband is dead. The Government is appropriating
Thomas' few hundreds towards his maintenance, but I
believe I will get Honor £100 odd for what she did for him a few
years ago, the only difficulty being as to identification of 7 Keane as
7 Cain in whose name some money stands in a Bank. I showed
Charles Keane the photos, just arrived, and he nearly went off his
head on seeing your face in the group. James is to be married to a daughter of the Speaker's—my late colleague. She is clever and an accomplished musician, but somewhat frail in physique, though not delicate. If you could transmit that accomplished friend of Agnes to Australia, I would have her, herself non dissentiente, on spec. I made a bet that I would get married or
break my neck, not much difference, within six months, and don't
want to lose my shilling. Please excuse haste, and love to all, I am

Your affectionate Son
P. McM. Glynn