Main content

Title: McMahon Glynn, Patrick to Shackell, Fanny, 1920
CollectionPatrick McMahon Glynn: Letters to his family (1874-1927) [Gerald Glynn O'Collins]
SenderMcMahon Glynn, Patrick
Sender Gendermale
Sender Occupationpolitician
Sender Religionunknown
OriginAdelaide, South Australia, Australia
DestinationSydney, New South Wales, Australia
RecipientShackell, Fanny
Recipient Genderfemale
Doc. No.
Partial Date
Doc. Type
Word Count195
Genrefamily, illness
TranscriptMorialta Chambers,
Victoria Square, Adelaide
24th June, 1920.

Dear Fanny
I regret to have just heard that you are laid up. I wrote to you a
few days ago, doubtless you received the letter. The letter was from
Mrs. Andrews evidently a kind friend. I have written to her by this
mail. I am also communicating at length with Agnes who has just
written to me from the Old Country. One of the Welsh family in the
west, a daughter of Mrs. Wall, wrote me a few days ago. If I have a
moment to spare after 9 to-night, I shall reply to her. She seems a
good domestic girl with a big family of children.
I have been wondering whether you would not be happier and
more at ease in some Institution. Abbie told me there were some that
treated persons of your ability and standing very well at small contributions, but unfortunately not being in Sydney, I cannot well find
out how matters there stand. However, I am rushed for the moment,
so, With best remembrances and wishes that you will soon be your old
self, I am,
Yours affectionately,
[P. McM. Glynn].