Main content

Title: McMahon Glynn, Patrick to Shackell, Fanny, 1920
CollectionPatrick McMahon Glynn: Letters to his family (1874-1927) [Gerald Glynn O'Collins]
SenderMcMahon Glynn, Patrick
Sender Gendermale
Sender Occupationpolitician
Sender Religionunknown
OriginAdelaide, South Australia, Australia
DestinationSydney, New South Wales, Australia
RecipientShackell, Fanny
Recipient Genderfemale
Doc. No.
Partial Date
Doc. Type
Word Count279
Genrefinding new lodgings
TranscriptMorialta Chambers,
Victoria Square, Adelaide
3rd July 1920.

My dear Fanny
Your letter has just come to hand. I am about leaving but will
write a few words. I hope indeed that you are getting better. Of
course your strength cannot be the same as in earlier life but you have
great vitality.
I am not sure what you refer to when you mention about finding
a decent place. I had a letter as I wrote to you on the 24th June from a Mrs. E. M. Andrews, whom of course I do not know. I wrote
to her in reply in effect stating that I thought that if you could get
into one of the best of these home institutions, such as the Home for
Incurables, it would be the best place of comfort for you. Here in
Adelaide at the beach there is a splendid home, first-class people in
it, at a very low contribution, I am not sure, but I think at 15/- or
£1 a week each—there must be some in Sydney. There are institutions
too connected with the Catholic Church which I am sure would
help in the matter. Of course I don't know anything of your relations
to the other, they may also have some similar place.
I shall write on Monday to Sydney again and see whether there
is any chance of finding out a place in one of these institutions. I
wish I was in Sydney to see you but my life is an exceedingly busy
one now with responsibilities far beyond my own family continuously
to attend to. With best wishes and regards,

Your affectionate cousin
[P. McM. Glynn]