Main content

Title: McMahon Glynn, Patrick to Glynn, Joseph, 1923
CollectionPatrick McMahon Glynn: Letters to his family (1874-1927) [Gerald Glynn O'Collins]
SenderMcMahon Glynn, Patrick
Sender Gendermale
Sender Occupationpolitician
Sender Religionunknown
OriginAdelaide, South Australia, Australia
DestinationGort, Co. Galway, Ireland
RecipientGlynn, Joseph
Recipient Gendermale
Doc. No.
Partial Date
Doc. Type
Word Count333
Genrefamily, advice on property
TranscriptMorialta Chambers,
Victoria Square, Adelaide.
3rd October 1923.

Dear Joseph
About a week ago I heard from Frank. I sent him £5 which
Robert gave me out of some moneys you sent him. He seems all right
now from his letters. I was in Melbourne in August but missed him
as he was not living in the Soldiers' Hostel, Collins Street, Melbourne.
He mentioned that he had looked at a list which is published about
once a month of lands for application. I have not the list with me but
it is one published in Melbourne not in South Australia and showing
certain areas, comparatively small, which could be purchased by
instalments. They were quoted between £2000 and £3000 and
are for mixed productions, cattle and sheep, or sheep and dairy
produce, etc., etc. It is impossible for me to say what particular spot
could be taken up unless he got direct information in Victoria of the
class of land, etc. I told him to try and ascertain that and to let you
know directly how he stood. In most of these a deposit of over
£100 or £150 would have to be paid at once. He doubtless has
already written to you. I just at the moment have heard that mere is
a mail tomorrow, I am stuck up but I thought that I would let you
shortly know what the position is.
I was glad to hear that Joan and Dymphna have been with you
and have had a splendid time in the Old Country. Few people know
the politeness and good feeling of the land in which we were born, so
little is communicated to the world except by telegrams of any trouble
that may arise. However, things are improving now. Some day or
another I hope to be in the United Kingdom again. One has friends
everywhere, in London, Scotland, and in the land of his birth— Ireland. With best regards and wishes,

Your affectionate brother
[P. McM. Glynn]