Main content

Title: McIlrath, James L to McIlrath family, 1875
CollectionThe McIlrath Letters: A family history in letters from New Zealand to Ireland (1860-1915) [Bassett, McKee et al.]
SenderMcIlrath, James L
Sender Gendermale
Sender Occupationfarmer
Sender Religionunknown
OriginSouthbridge, Canterbury, New Zealand
DestinationKillinchy, Co. Down, Northern Ireland
RecipientMcIlrath family
Recipient Gendermale-female
Doc. No.
Partial Date
Doc. Type
Word Count281
Genresending money, request for an assistant
August 26th 1875

Father Mother & Brothers
I write a few lines to let you know that we are all well. Also to
acknowledge yours of April 21st 75 and the book some time before. I
have not read anything since I left to please me like it (Bible excepted)
I am glad to hear that you are all well, I enclose a Draft order for
£25 pounds, payable to you William, but I wish you all to know that it
is a joint present from Agnes and myself to Father and Mother to buy something easy to go out in do not think but what we wish you all to enjoy many a pleasant ride. You need not be disappointed if when you present this in Belfast you will be told to wait two days or so until they correspond with the head office in London also I inform you that all expences on same is paid by me already. Wishing you all many happy days I must take leave to finish but next time you will get a longer one.
Yours affectionately

P.S Please inform me at once if you do not get this all right as I hold
an exact copy and can send it again J. L. McIlrath
P.S. Would you let me know if you know of any young woman or girl
that would like to come here willing to milk and sew there is no rough
work here like at home. I would pay all expences from she left home
and make this a home for her too, I would give from twenty to £25
per year. Please let me know,
J. L. McIlrath