Main content

Title: J.Carrothers, London, Ontario to W.Carrothers, Farnaght, Fermanagh
CollectionIrish Emigration Database
FileCarrothers, Joseph/4
SenderCarrothers, Joseph
Sender Gendermale
Sender Occupationfarmer
Sender Religionunknown
OriginLondon, Ontario, Canada
DestinationCo. Fermanagh, N.Ireland
RecipientCarrothers, William
Recipient Gendermale
SourceT3734:Presented by Edward N. Carrothers, 3 University Street, Belfast, Northern Ireland.
ArchivePublic Record Office, Northern Ireland
Doc. No.9411032
Partial Date
Doc. TypeEMG
LogDocument added by LT/JW, 10:11:1994.
Word Count561
TranscriptFebruary 19th 1852

Dear Brother

Once more I am spared to send you a few
line hoping the will find you in Good health as
they leave me and the family in at present thanks
be to God for all his kind mercies to us. Dear
Willy I received no letter from you since I received
your letter of May last together with Mr
Copelands which I answered immediatley after.
I have received no papers from Jas Copeland
since June last I hope he is still living and well
and all the family give my respects to them. I
had a letter from Paul before Christmas last
from the Town of San Francisco in California he
was well at that time but he had fever in the
summer (Panama fever) I hear his health will be
bad in the country.
He says it is a good place for making
money if he gets his health. Labourers wages
from 4 to 5 Dollars pr [per?] Day, Carpenter from 6
to 8 Dollars pr Day, Masons from 8 to Dollars
pr Day. He says the mines did not do well last
summer for want of rain, the had no water for
washing out the gold. I wrote to him to come to
this country. We have the coldest winter that
had been this Twenty years, the 15-16-17 of
December last and the 17-18-19-20 of January and
the last three Day of This month the were in the
extreme. The people like deep snow for it gives good
slaeing [sleighing?] and the drive like fury with all kinds of
loding. Our markets is very cheap, wheat from 1s 6d to
2s 3d pr Bushel of 60 pounds puttatoes [potatoes?] is the
dearest of our crop the are 22 pr Bushel. The rotted last
July very like what I seen in Ireland. All provisions
is equally cheap. All your brothers and families are
well and so is your cosins [cousin?]. George is the only one
in a delicate state he is broke down by his former
hard labour. I am told George Stuart has got married
at Brontford to a girl of the name of Maguire from
Magheraboy - he is at the shoemaking in Brontford.
Rebecca (Carrothers), Webster's husband died in November
she had no children she was well of during her
life. Jane Trimbles Daughters is to come out early
this season the will come to their uncles, Robert
lives beside me. Please to send 4 sions off [of?] the
Bakeing [Baking?] Apple and 4 off [of?] the wine Apple take
them of short shoots of last years with a little old wood.
Send me 4 of the scarlitt [scarlett?] Thorn. James Graham will
show you them at my Dwelling. Roll them in oild [oiled?]
paper and tye [tie?] them close. Send me a pint of spring
veches and a dosen [dozen?] of Long pod Beans. Send these
with Miss Trimble she will come to this place. We
do not crop here until the leaf is on the trees.
Send me a letter with Miss Trimble and let me know
how my friends are and all my old acquaincances [acquaintances?] and
how you are able to meet the requirements of Mr
Porter. I and the family send our best love and
respects to you and your wife and children. I remain
Dr [Dear?] Brother Yours affectionately
Joesph Carrothers.

Mr William Carrothers
Co. [County?] Fermanagh


London U.C. [Upper Canada or Ontario?] Feb February 20 1852
Montreal L.C. [Lower Canada or Quebec?] Feb [February?] 23 1852
Enniskillen Mr [March?] 18 1852