Main content

Title: J. Carrothers, Ontario to W.Carrothers, Farnaght, Fermanagh
CollectionIrish Emigration Database
FileCarrothers, Joseph/9
SenderCarrothers, Joseph
Sender Gendermale
Sender Occupationfarmer
Sender Religionunknown
OriginLondon, Ontario, Canada
DestinationCo. Fermanagh, N.Ireland
RecipientCarrothers, William
Recipient Gendermale
SourceT3734: Presented by Edward N. Carrothers, 3 University Street, Belfast, Northern Ireland.
ArchiveThe Public Record Office, Northern Ireland
Doc. No.9411036
Partial Date
Doc. TypeEMG
LogDocument added by LT/JW, 10:11:1994.
Word Count234
TranscriptBosanquet March 8th 1870

Dear Brother Willy [William?],
I send you a few lines to let you know I am
living and well hoping you and the family are in
the same good health Thanks be to God for his manyfold
blessings. We have lost one of the old Farnaghts,
Mark Died on the 16th of January and left
a wife and 8 children to lament his loss, for the
will feel his loss. The were in comfortable circumstances.
I had word from Brothers last week
there [they?] are all well and so is the old Breakeys,
the are wearing out well, Anne is still dodging
about. My son William and family is well, James
has got married last November to a Miss Fitchet
a fine clever girl of Canadian family, we all live
together as yet. I have been very busy all the
summer chiefly at looms and sasher. I have made
Gothick sashes for several churches since I came
up here. Slays [sleighs?] in Winter when the snow comes, and
we have a good long winter this year and is likely
to continue this month. I am making Dimond [Diamond?] Harrows
for spring, no day goes better with me than the day
I am at work at the bench and I work steady. The
people wonder that I work as I do being the age I
am in the seventy-seventh year of my age. What
plants you sent me in spring last I had very bad
sucksess [success?] in them the were all dried up only the
carnation, you rolled them in dry fine paper, you
should Oiled the paper. James and I got 8 premiums
last Octr [October?] at the Township Show, One pair of sasher
(Gothick) one Dimond [Diamond?] Harrow and the other six for
Flower and Vegtables. I will send you a few
seeds in this packet.

Dear Brother

You will oblidge [oblige?] me be sending me (perhaps
the last time) if convenient the following plants,
the Double Polyanthus, Double Primrose, Varigated
Thyme, Peppermint, Double Carnation Pink, and if
you can get it without troouble [trouble?] send me a plant
of the Large Strawberry (Ma......) I intend to send
you a plant of the Bleeding Hart [Heart?] on, Deletrie
Spictabella Botanical name, but I cannot get it until the
frost is thawed out. In picking the roots fill
a piece of rough paper in oil, Hogs grease will
do, put a few sprigs of Damp moss and roll them up
tight, and strong paper over all to Bear the Address
which is Joseph Carrothers, Bosanquet, Widder
Station P.O. [Post office?] Ont. [Ontario?] British America
Please remember me to Mr. James Copeland
of Lisbellaw, I hope he is living and well and
all the family relations. Let my old acquaintance
know that I am living and well yet I suppose
a great many of them are no more.
You will be particular to answer this letter
and let me know how you are geting on in your family
and family affairs. I hope the troubles in other
part of Ireland dose [does?] not interfere with the peace
of your part to [too?], papers [newspapers?] give account of
bad work going on in some parts of it.
No more at present from your
Affectionate Brother
Josep [Joseph?] Carrother.