Main content

Title: Greeves (n. Sinton), Margaret to O'Brien (n. Greeves), Anne, 1819
CollectionThe Transatlantic Letters of an Irish Quaker Family_1818-1877 [B. Jackson]
SenderGreeves (n. Sinton), Margaret
Sender Genderfemale
Sender Occupationunknown
Sender ReligionQuaker
OriginCarlow, Co. Carlow, Ireland
DestinationPhiladelphia, Penn., USA
RecipientO'Brien (n. Greeves), Anne
Recipient Genderfemale
Doc. No.
Partial Date
Doc. Type
Word Count468
Genrevisiting relatives, family news
TranscriptCarlow 7 mo 16 [1819]
My dear Anne
I once thought I would have the pleasure of seeing thee and my dear William when I would come heer. I feel as if I wanted something. I miss William very much. I am heer two weeks agoine seven day. Mary is still on foot and fine and stout, though she was very poorly most of the winter. Mary intends writing, so need not say more. We
have been greatly disappointed in not getting a letter from you by the same ship that one come from John Wright,
in saying thee was at thy Uncle Silicons and that William was going for thee. I wonder he [thee?] did not write at
the same time, if thee knew how uneasy we ate to know how you are getting on. I often think of poor William
having to work hard in the warm weather. Be sure to let me know all about my Brothers and what way they are
in and how thee likes them. Every one praises Sister Polly. I expect thee will also let us know about the Murpheys.
The last letter we had from you was about a week after you had got to a house of your own. We have wrote a great
many letters which I hope you have got and also the maile [meal]: I sent by Lucy Thomson the making of a wraper
of buff calico (not my fancy but Mary's). It answers nursing best. Also a frock for Maria.
I have not heard from home since I came, but I left them all well. Thy Father is getting very fat and looks
better than he has these many years. My stomach keeps pritty well. I was like to forget to tell thee that Sister
Debby came to see me a few days before I left home and has her stepson with her. She seems quite happy. I have
not [been] at Moyallon yet. I am quite delighted with John and Anna: they are two very fine children. I spent
a evening with Sally Mury but did nor see the child for it is out at nurse. They have a shop next door to where
you lived.
Give my love to Brother Tom and wife, James and Mary Greeves, John and Ann Write. There has been another
power of aturney sent to Thomas Nicholson which I expect there is not doubt will do, so I am in hopes you will
get the money some time. Now, my dear Ann, do Write often and let us know how you are getting on. I heer
G and Bess Talour [Taylor] is quite happy. I dont know how they can in them wild woods. I am with dear love to
thee and William
thy afft Mother
Margaret Greeves