Main content

Title: O'Brien, Joseph Sinton to O'Brien, Maria Wright, 1842
CollectionThe Transatlantic Letters of an Irish Quaker Family_1818-1877 [B. Jackson]
SenderO'Brien, Joseph Sinton
Sender Gendermale
Sender Occupationclerk
Sender ReligionQuaker
OriginNYC, USA
DestinationCollins, Lake Erie, NY, USA
RecipientO'Brien, Maria Wright
Recipient Genderfemale
Doc. No.
Partial Date
Doc. Type
Word Count314
Genrerequest for information on land, relative wants to emigrate
Transcript8th month 1st day

My Dear Sister Maria
It rained so hard yesterday that I had no chance to mail my letter so as the mail will not go till three o'clock. The
reason I write thee now is on account of David Malcomson is very desirous to get all the information he can for
his brother who thinks of emigrating to America, enquires what I think about prices of land in the west and a great
many things. He asks me this morning had I no friend at the west to whom I could write and would pay the
postage. Now if thee would find out Stephen Estee's address and let me know the next time thee writes, I would
write to him. This must be done soon as David returns to Liverpool in five or six weeks; but I can write to him if
I should not get an answer for him before he sails. The information he wants is what is the price of land, say one
hundred acres, half of it cleared; the price of cows, horses, pigs and sheep, and waggon, ploughs &c. Now I think
that thee will try to give the information - think you might find out something from A. [Abram] Tucker, but I
would not like to depend upon it.
Rebecca says that while in Mobile she had a mind to write to thee to come to Mobile. The Toulmins are
expected here in about 3 or 4 days. I think that thee had better conclude to go south with them this fall: if thee likes to do so, I will cell Rebecca but say nothing to them till I hear from thee. Remember me to all friends and write to me soon on Davids account. Is David related to me at all? His sister [Rachel] is married to Uncle Thomas.

Thy affectionate Brother