Main content

Title: Jane Armstrong, Co. Monaghan, to Isabella Montgomery, Quebec.
CollectionIrish Emigration Database
FileArmstrong, Jane/69
SenderArmstrong, Jane
Sender Genderfemale
Sender Occupationmentions potato digging, farming family
Sender Religionunknown
OriginCo. Monaghan, Ireland
DestinationMontreal, Quebec, Canada
RecipientMontgomery (n. Armstrong), Isabella
Recipient Genderfemale
SourceDonated by Donald, J. Boyle, 51 William St., Brantford, Ontario,N373K6, Canada. e-mail; don boyle @ worldchat.com.
ArchiveThe Ulster American Folk Park.
Doc. No.9806883
Partial Date
Doc. TypeLTE
LogDocument added by LT, 25:06:98.
Word Count293
Transcript[Millbrook, Lisegerton, Co. Monaghan to
Bell (Isabella) Armstrong - married Robert Montgomery.
From her mother Jane Armstrong (Alford) in Montreal,

Sept 9 th 1889

My Dear Bell
I received your two
letters safe many thanks
My dear child I know
you do feel for me but
I hope the Lord will
spare me to see you
home in the summer
I am glad you did not
come and leave your
place but I was so
ill I made Bella ask
you to come but
as soon as your letter
was gone I was sorry to
up set you I am not
able to do any thing
but eat a little Ady can
go a message for me now
to any of the houses
Henery [Henry?] digs the potatoes
When he comes home
Lisie [Lizzie?] comes over some
times she and George
are well Mrs McPhilips
and family are well so
are the Howards and
all they [the?] neighbours Tom
has not writin [written?] this long
time Robert writes often

We will not find the Winter
passing I cant say much in
writing but when you come
I will talk plenty I do not
know what I would do
only for Ady she is wise
and she is strong and
dose [does?] many things for me
do you see the Doonans
how are they doing I herd [heard?]
from Joe and William they
say they will not let me
want in my old age
Eliza might write to me
Mary Ann Cleskin is home just
the same you will soon write
again to me it dose [does?] me
it dose [does?] (sic) me good
to get your letters lots of
kisses from Ady and
love from my self and
do not fret for me
for I may be better
before long Miss Kelly
sends her love to you
love from Henery [Henry?]

ever your affectionate
Mother Jane Armstrong

[Letter written to Bell, on September 9th, 1889, from
a place called Millbrook, which is in the townland of
Liseggerton, just on the outskirts of Clones, Co. Monaghan.
This is where the family moved after leaving the farm.
Note :
1 : Letter written Sept. 9th and she died on Oct. 1st 1889.
2 : Ady is Adelaide and was a child born to Belle and
George Graham on July 4, 1885.
3 : Henery [Henry?] was the only one of the children to
remain in Ireland and I believe his wife's name to be
Lisie [Lizzie?]