Main content

Title: Adam Duffin, London, to Ellen Duffin, Broughshane, Co Antrim.
CollectionIrish Emigration Database
FileDuffin, Adam/125
SenderDuffin, Adam
Sender Gendermale
Sender Occupationbusinessman, linen trader
Sender Religionunknown
OriginLondon, England
DestinationBroughshane, Co. Antrim, N.Ireland
RecipientDuffin, Ellen
Recipient Genderfemale
SourceT 1252/24: Presented by Miss Duffin, Mount Pleasant, Stranmillis, Belfast. #TYPE LET Adam Duffin, London, to His Wife Mrs Ellen Duffin, Broughshane, Ballymena Co Antrim, 12 May 1814.
ArchivePublic Record Office, N. Ireland
Doc. No.9001057
Partial Date
Doc. TypeLET
Log05:02:1990 LT created 08:06:1990 JF input 08:06:19
Word Count308
TranscriptMrs A. Duffin B. Shane [Broughshane?]

London 12th May 1814
Dear Ellen
I arrived here yesterday Evening in good health without any return
of the complaint which troubled me before I left Home - Not having much
opportunity yet of getting information on trade I cannot afford much
knowledge in that way, but the little I have had is by no means flattering -
Little or no business has been done for the last three weeks, and the Buyers
are still holding off expecting a vast reduction in the price of linen -
However a great deal will depend on the determination of the Board of Trade
- the question I understand was to be debated yesterday but nothing of the
result has yet transpired, But in the mean time I woud [would?] recommend it
to our friends to purchase very sparingly until it is better understood how
things may be - I hope all matters go on well at Home, & that William is
attentive to his concerns, I wou'd [would?] recommend it to Him rather to
[Beetle?] for others than buy at the present prices - so soon as David &
Williams linen come to Town I shall write and let them know how they are
likely to do, but I am afraid not well
I am anxious to know if the Belfast Bank has made any further demand
for the payment of Lord O'Neills Bill - I do not know whether or not He be
in Town, but I expect to learn to Morrow [tomorrow?] - Mr Johnston is with
His Family in the Isle of Wight, but He is expected up in a few Days, after
which I shall write more fully - direct to me at Messrs Courtail Harrison &
Co where letters will find me - With love to all our dear family I am Dr
[Dear?] Ellen
affectionately yours
Adam Duffin